Favorites of the week: Blog Posts

Here we take a look around the sphere and talk about my favorite blogposts. This is not an objective “best-of” list because I obviously do not read all the blogs. Also some posts, even if written by my favorite bloggers, may be about anime or episodes I haven’t seen, or subjects I don’t understand. This is why some posts won’t be listed, outside of plain ignorance on my part. Last week I did not post this because I did not find any posts that gave me the same feelings the week prior.

The further weeks will improve I think, thanks to the effort of bloggers like Owen, usagijen, and most notably Lelangir who I’ve been relying on to send interesting posts in my direction via Google Reader, and recently ani-tations.

Without further ado and in no particular order…

In search of more than 9coburn | December 9, 2008, Claiming Ground

I don’t have to agree with a post for me to like it, and I like this post a lot. Coburn’s blogging is about introducing himself to anime, a newcomer’s perspective that I find utterly addicting. After reading the first few months’ worth of posts over at Claiming, I thought I should really start blogging as well. It’s also one of the first blogs I started posting comments in.

For a person who has just been introducing himself to anime, coburn’s ways of liking it have gotten quite sophisticated. In this post he looks into a method of justifying an anime to be a 10/10 or part of the echelons of his favorites.

So while I don’t allot a score or ranking to every anime I watch, when it comes to the very best that distinction is still in my head. I’m forever asking whether this latest show is worthy of the list of best bests. Invariably I find imperfections.

But then, what can I possibly mean by referring to perfection? Should I just think about what would be personally appealing?

The reviewing systems I know and love are predicated upon the fetish of perfection. My favourite judgemental authorities (looking beyond anime) have always been the ones who refused to give their perfect scores to more than an elite few, or refused to give it ever. But what I’m interested in here isn’t the attempted objectivity of these reviewers, it’s the personal sense of perfection. The feeling that what you just saw was immaculate.

Yeesh. Perfection. I stay away from the concept. But as I’ve mentioned in the comments (plenty of quality commentary, as well as trackbacks to posts influenced by this one) I find the quest to define perfection, the masterpiece to be a romantic one. Even if I disagree with it, I don’t think coburn or others should stop.

Fate/stay night, Heaven’s Feel Route –  Posted by: Owen S in Review, Visual Novel, December 11, 2008, Cruel Angel Theses

Cruel Angel Theses is the first anime blog I’ve ever read, with The Animanachronism soon afterward, so no surprises why some of my writing will seem derivative of those blogs. Owen spoiled me for blog reading, the same way Legend of the Galactic Heroes is currently ruining anime for me. His influence continues in this post (along with a mystery commenter who brought a familiar sence of awesomeness to the discussion).

Looking back on HF as a whole, I can’t help but feel that contemporary superheroes are spoiled brats in the sense that they don’t have to deal with such issues; their powers and predicaments are marriages of convenience more than anything, and they usually escape having to pay the price as a result. Were it that one’s sacrifices were proportionate to one’s heroics, [...]

Not only do I agree with that parting statement, the post (and Owen) has gotten me started on VNs. I’ll probably start playing later this week when my time frees up.

Toradora and Lucky Star – Welcome Back to Anime, Digital Boy! – Posted by 21stcenturydigitalboy on December 7, 2008, Euphoric Field

Euphoric Field is riveting. Not because it’s consistently excellent, but the force of personality of digiboy can lead to many, many interesting blog-reading moments. In the recent weeks he completely made the equivalents to blogging faceplants, with posts and commentary like Essential Anime, which caused some drama; and on the Nonexistence of Objectivity, which led to a complete RECANT. The awesome, awesome thing about this dude is the complete and utter turnaround he made in the following week, leading to a debut on OH!, and this piece of epicness:

On monday, I began a quest. For I knew it had been too long. Since early September, I had only completed 3 anime, two of which were rewathches. I watched various episodes of random shows here and there, as well as in October the first episodes of all the currect season shows, but no further into those series. What was happening to me? Why was I watching so little anime? Moreover, I was growing more and more elitist. The silly and cliche shows I would once have loved were now losing their standing to me, and what’s more I was getting descriminatory toward moe for no viable reason. Last weekend I had a revalation – what the fuck? My entire foundation as an otaku is based around moe. I fucking LOVE moe! And I fucking love anime!!! And that’s when I knew what I must do. I would have a 7-day moe marathon. My schedule for this marathon changed many times as well as what shows would be watched, but in the end I got te perfect combination that I needed. Unfortunately for you, I can’t tell you about any of that yet. At the end of this week I plan to take my findings from all the moe anime and do a massive thesis which will be insanely awesome.

At this point I couldn’t even care about the upcoming thesis. This kind of introspection and resulting gutty effort inspires the living shit out of the fanboy in me. Do what you do, digiboy.

And that’s it!  There’s no real parameters for this list, I just need to like the posts over the rest of what I read at this point in time. I love reading blogs. Bloggers, keep bringing it!

About ghostlightning

I entered the anime blogging sphere as a lurker around Spring 2008. We Remember Love is my first anime blog. Click here if this is your first time to visit WRL.
This entry was posted in favorites of the week and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Favorites of the week: Blog Posts

  1. Funeral says:

    Maybe mine will be apart of this one day. One can always hope.

  2. lelangir says:

    whoa I never read coburn’s blog title in that way. I guess I read it in a hyphenated way; “the claiming grounds”, not “I am claiming ground”.

  3. Fuck yes I made the weekly awesomeness! And I loved that post myself so I feel quite honored. LULZ at the ‘blogging faceplants’ I promise you that was 100% due to blogging anime while NOT FUCKING WATCHING IT. Take my advice and NEVER DO THAT. EVER.

    Coburn’s post is tl;dr but getting the gist of it, I feel like I ought to do a post about m own ratings system that I’ve been perfecting for OVER A FUCKING YEAR.

  4. rollchan says:

    interesting posts.

  5. usagijen says:

    For a moment there I thought I actually got mentioned! And I did, albeit in a different ‘form’ xD Keep bringing MOAR of this, it makes the whole community spirit alive and kicking! Not to mention it inspires me to achieve a certain level of ‘awesomeness’

    Haven’t got the time to read much blog posts lately, but I’m certainly keeping tabs on the ones you featured.

  6. omisyth says:

    Rating systems seem completely usless and arbitraryto me, yet I use them on MAL and even in some show reviews and will continue to do so. Funny that.

  7. ghostlightning says:

    @ Funeral

    You never now how soon that could happen. This favorites thing is extremely arbitrary and subjective.

    @ Lelangir

    Yep, coburn’s blog is well-thought-out.

    @ digitalboy

    Good luck with your ratings system. I’m in agreement with omistyth on this one.

    @ usagijen

    I CONTINUE TO FIGHT. Srsly, I really thought this list was going obsolete now that you guys have bee sharing on GR. In any case I really think you should write MOAR. Not enough posts by you – especially I consider myself and my kind of blogging an offshoot of the usagijen school of fangirling (fanboying) over manga (anime).

Leave a Reply

