LISTEN TO MY SONG! VOL. 10: Wanna Be an Angel

I don’t see a lot of discussion about this track, and speaking for myself I’ve overlooked this particular piece of the Macross Plus OSTs. This is a shame that I rectify for great justice. This song is awesome, and immediately told me that the anime I was watching wasn’t the Macross of my childhood.


macross plus movie edition poster

ghostlightning, you’re not in 1984 anymore…

The Voices video I posted here [->] I feel should be correctly called ‘Myung’s Theme.’ Now I get to post an actual live performance of the first track that made me think highly of music in in anime. Here it is, Voices:

VOL. 9 [->]

Thanks to these awesome sites who brought this video to my attention: A Gabriela Robin Site [->], and Cybird (who first published the videos) [->]

About ghostlightning

I entered the anime blogging sphere as a lurker around Spring 2008. We Remember Love is my first anime blog. Click here if this is your first time to visit WRL.
This entry was posted in listen to my song and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to LISTEN TO MY SONG! VOL. 10: Wanna Be an Angel

  1. otou-san says:

    the OST1 has two versions of the same basic tune, one is called “Myung’s Theme” and the other is “Voices.” Either way, it’s the tune that sold me on Yoko Kanno, though I really didn’t figure that out for a while. Like you, it changed my opinion of what music in anime could be, and probably what anime in general could be too.

    • ghostlightning says:

      Macross Plus aside from shaking up my fanboying (I had thought Robotech was canon at that point), was part of a resurgence in my anime watching, along with Ninja Scroll, Ghost in the Shell, Akira, the Dragon Ball Z movies (some of them anyway) and Street Fighter II (whose character designs remind me of Macross Plus).

      There was no access for me to series, so it would take a decade before I started catching up with anime.

  2. omo says:

    Macross Plus music is what popped my direct import cherry.

    • ghostlightning says:

      Yeah, I have that CD as well… though it took me some time to find it. I actually got to find Cowboy Bebop first.

Leave a Reply

