TAKE A RUSTY SPOON AND CARVE MY LIVER OUT; NOW SEASON MY HEARTBURGER WITH IT (Tokyo Magnitude 8.0 09)

tokyo magnitude 8.0 mari yuuki's bag

I’m sorry to disappoint anyone who reads this blog for fanboying or analysis. It’s not going to happen for Tokyo Magnitude 8.0 this week. Not only did it refuse to ultimately clarify the situation regarding a certain robot otaku’s welfare, it remained well within its adopted narrative device (should the worst indeed has come to pass about referenced character). The suggestion of death is very strong, but it isn’t conclusive. This, this, this, is very cruel.

And I’m retarded for cruel stories right now.

How cruel? By remaining inconclusive, by withdholding the confirmation (no matter how heavy the suggestions weigh on my mind), I’m not allowed to grieve… FOR ANOTHER WEEK. For all of you who came to (or would come to) the party late with this show, you have denied yourself a powerful experience. This cannot, I repeat, CANNOT be replicated via marathoning at one’s leisure. Once you know the show is just there in your hard drive, DVD, or what not — you’re already cheating yourself of the experience without even meaning to do so.

I know this because I marathoned Gambling Apocalypse Kaiji in two days last week, and given it’s cliffhanger-rich nature, I just had to know what happens next. Had I seen the show during its run, I would have acutely felt the intense emotions hanging onto the resolution of the different gambles. And given the uneven number of episodes devoted to the resolution of each gamble, I just never knew when the pain was going to end. But it did in 25 episodes or so.

tokyo magnitude 8.0 mirai yuuki 's face says it all

Now I know the end is near, for Tokyo Magnitude 8.0. There’s a conceptual finish line for the narrative of Mirai’s broken world. But it’s still almost a month away. There are many days I’m still going to be nursing this anguish. After investing all this emotion on these characters, after thoughtfully considering the minutiae of their behaviors, they’ve become rather dear to me as fictional characters go. I don’t think I’m going to be forgetting this summer soon.

But why so much anguish, beyond the obvious? Well, maybe I can do some analysis after all. Otou-san identified the Onosawa’s individulally sliced, and different flavored birthday cakes a metaphor for the fractured nature or circumstances of that family. They are whole and complete in a nuclear way, but their behavior unto each other and the dynamics of their relationship provide a subtly inferred dysfunction. There’ s not a lot of warmth in that family, EXCEPT FROM YUUKI.

In episode two, Mari’s family provides a contrast: incomplete, a collection of women from three generations — something underscored rather powerfully this episode. In their incompletion they manifest a wholeness, a manner of health in terms of functional relationships and genuine warmth represented then (in episode two) by the round cake, meant to celebrate Hina-chan’s birthday. Mirai and Mari are the mirrors to each other, coming from different places in life; but showing each other facets of it.

tokyo magnitude 8.0 mari hina kusakabe obasan 3 generations

The round cake that they ate, in that first night of would-be privation, represents the wholeness of the Kusakabe family. The act of sharing Mari does, represents what Mirai can learn: if even Mari in her hodgepodge collection of girls of different generations can be a family, she could make her own — with all its parts perfectly waiting, work.

THE CAKE, IS A LIE.

There’s no family in Mirai’s future (I’m pleased by this bilingual/translational accident of a  pun), at least, not with the family she starts the story with. Why, BECAUSE YUUKI IS DEAD. Yuuki, who as a narrative device has always been the trigger for Mirai to behave better, to think beyond herself, is dead. And the show won’t let me mourn, because I never got to ID the body myself (at least not through Mirai’s eyes).

tokyo magnitude 8.0 mari won't identify the remains

The show made a big deal about identifying the casualties. It came up horrifyingly for Mari twice. It was the device for suspense in the episode, and I think it’s rather clever and effective. Good stuff, really; because it’s also the hand that grabs my hair from behind the head and rubs my face down the asphalt of uncertainty regarding Yuuki’s death.

We have suggestions, big heavy ones. But no conclusion. The matter itself is the narrative-as-villain that throws us over a cliff, stomping on our fingers clutching on the ledge of closure.

Further Reading

Otou-san and his cake (of inauthenticity! lies!) (otou-san 2009/07/29)

Mirai’s bowels reject the cake. THIS TOO, WAS A SIGN [->]

The episodes of pwnage that started this cruelty [1] [2]

If you know what a Lost Snail is, then you might see a familiar face just like I did [->]

About ghostlightning

I entered the anime blogging sphere as a lurker around Spring 2008. We Remember Love is my first anime blog. Click here if this is your first time to visit WRL.
This entry was posted in analysis, Tokyo Magnitude 8.0 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to TAKE A RUSTY SPOON AND CARVE MY LIVER OUT; NOW SEASON MY HEARTBURGER WITH IT (Tokyo Magnitude 8.0 09)

  1. sadakups says:

    “For all of you who came to (or would come to) the party late with this show, you have denied yourself a powerful experience.”

    True. It would be a totally different experience altogether if I marathoned this rather than watching this faithfully every week. As the cliche goes, it’s the journey that matters (literally for the characters, and figuratively for us viewers) and not the destination.

    Again, BONES did something awesome with this episode. The majority of the episode made us believe that Yuuki was not dead and that Mari’s sad face was because of the worrying for her family. And that last minute twist came and it again emphasizes the possibility of Yuuki being dead.

    And yes, I won’t mourn just yet until the whole thing is confirmed through Mirai’s eyes. Call it denial despite the damning evidence, but I’ve been tricked so many times in watching anime, and this show did a very good job.

  2. digitalboy says:

    >>>>>>Once you know the show is just there in your hard drive, DVD, or what not — you’re already cheating yourself of the experience without even meaning to do so.

    I know this because I marathoned Gambling Apocalypse Kaiji in two days last week, and given it’s cliffhanger-rich nature, I just had to know what happens next. Had I seen the show during its run, I would have acutely felt the intense emotions hanging onto the resolution of the different gambles. And given the uneven number of episodes devoted to the resolution of each gamble, I just never knew when the pain was going to end. But it did in 25 episodes or so.<<

    And here is where I don't agree with you. Suspense doesn't work that way for me – I hate suspense. Not a good pain, like reading something that hurts, but an aggravation. Or even in many cases, I just don't even care.

    What it comes down to is probably just my short attention span. But when I have something withheld from me long enough, I just stop caring. There are a lot of suspense movies I've watched where I just didn't even care what the secret was by the end of the film. If you want to put it negatively, I require instant gratification or else I feel unsatisfied (is this, perhaps, why I drop so many anime?)

    When I owned 4 DVDs of Gankutsuou, my brother and I watched them all at once, and that was the most suspenseful anime I've ever seen (and I've seen Kaiji!) After every episode of Gankutsuou, we'd be itching to see the next one and feverishly skip the previews and openings to get there. And then the last episode of DVD four was the most gripping and powerful cliffhanger of them all – but I didn't have volume 5!!! So at first, we were like 'dammit!'

    But did that do anything for me in regards to the series? no. I didn't even make volume 5 my next purchase or anything. By the time I got the last two volumes (about 4 months later) we had to start the show over anyway because we couldn't recall the details well enough. Having that feeling of suspense never made the series any better for me.

    When I watched Kaiji with a friend, we watched it in a span of 2 days, because I knew if we left it on a cliffhanger, I'd never, ever get around to continuing it. That's just how I am. I want to get things over with and not have to fuck around for 4 or 5 more weeks while I slowly forget the plot of the show. That's why there are anime that I've stopped literally 2 episodes before the end just as things were getting climactic.

    • 0rion says:

      I have to agree as well. I very frequently drop shows that I enjoy a lot, if I watch them as they are airing. It’s just very much harder to remain engaged in the world of the story when you have to take forced breaks, and eventually I just lose that investment in the story altogether.

      I’m the same way with video games. If I stop playing for a while partway through, I can’t come back later and pick back up. I have to start from the beginning again.

      This kind of suspense isn’t enjoyable at all, and by next week I’ll probably have lost the intensity of the moment and may not even get around to watching the episode for a few weeks, given my work schedule.

      Anime marathons FTW!

      • I don’t completely disagree, as I watch most of my anime in marathoned batches. There are clear advantages, and I don’t mean to imply that doing so is watching anime the wrong way. But there are disadvantages as well, beyond what I mentioned; such as forgetting or even missing details, good stuff that you want to remember (very important if you want to write about them, or even just discuss them with friends).

        That said, we watch in the way that fits our life best.

        Still, there’s value in the viewing the show in it’s broadcast order and temporal span. If I could go back and watch Gurren Lagann during its time, I would. I really, really would. I will console myself by starting a rewatch marathon, even if it feels a little lonely.

    • Orion’s comments notwithstanding, after all I marathon most of the anime I watch as well, there are some shows worth all this pain.

      mechafetish is a pussy, just like you — in his case he loses sleep, doesn’t want to talk to people, can’t concentrate on life– when hung on a cliff by a show he’s truly engaged by.

      That said, and without invalidation your own experience, here’s something for you:

      Consider how you’ve never really watched shows as they air — to their completion (if otherwise, this is rare). This means that you don’t get a lot of opportunity to be in the middle of things like this with a community. After all, you hate it when people get it wrong. Consider that it’s part of the fun too. Blogging this show has increased the intensity of my experience of this show exponentially. Similarly, luriking and reading blogposts and /m/ during Macross Frontier’s run last year allowed the intensity of my experience of the whole thing to go supernova.

      Maybe you don’t like people as much, or maybe just hate it too much when they get it wrong. Either way, a social experience of an ongoing show is win.

      There’s nothing wrong with watching shows in such rapid marathons. However, I do know that you can hardly remember names, and probably miss out on a lot of details too. If you don’t see these things as potentially very very important, then I invite you to consider it.

      • digitalboy says:

        I do miss details, but that’s why I do rewatches, and don’t consider a show really done till I’ve seen it enough times.

        But otherwise, your points stand.

        • You’ll find out soon enough why many people don’t get to rewatch shows like you (or me, who rewatches shows a freaking lot just for fun and remembering love). There simply isn’t time for it, not anymore.

          So for a lot of them, which includes me at times, a communal experience allows for catching details missed/clarifications/interpretations without rewatching — assuming one trusts the people interacted with.

          • digitalboy says:

            and of course i may become that way when i run out of time for rewatches, though there doesn’t seem to be any of that happening in the forseeable future

  3. Ryan A says:

    I think we all know and all know what Yuuki is going to say, and I feel we all know that Mirai likely knows as well. Dreams aren’t something that become memories, when do we have flashbacks of dreams? I’d say it’s pretty rare.

    I’ll welcome a curve with an open heart, but I feel all the current viewers already know what’s expected…. if the writers manage to do something different, and pull it off… I’d be amazed.

    Super Heartfelt Destiny Approaches!

    Also, having marathoned the first 8 episodes, and now going weekly, I don’t feel the experience would be much different. Most of the episodes didn’t have strong cliff-hangers until 7+. Could just be that I know the level of my OoSOoM powers (Out of Sight, Out of Mind), and really thinking about the past episode within the week between episodes is not very likely in my world :/ (more impact in the marathon for me… good example, Kurenai).

    It’s like with Bakemonogatari, I prefer to watch the arcs as one unit, as it tends to put the experience in full bloom.
    :)

    • Well yes, up to episode 7 you can marathon it. But that’s exactly the exception that proves the assertion. Some people can’t handle cliff-hangers, like mechafetish, and digiboy above. I have trouble with them too, hence this post. But these things are also part of the experience.

      In Lucky Star, Izumi Sou (Konata’s dad) is proud to have watched every single episode of the Gundam franchise in the moment they aired. While this is a ridiculously extreme/hardcore example, it points towards the value of being in the moment, in the case of Tokyo Magnitude 8.0 a part of a community of viewers and fans, to share something powerful.

  4. bluemist says:

    How I weathered the Endless Eight storm in Haruhi is how I will survive this trembling. I am holding on to hope that Yuuki is in a coma instead of being dead. In any case, I also have come to care about the characters of this anime, and most of the times an anime becomes legendary to me when that happens.

    And the cake is certainly interesting. I lol’d when you reminded me that Mirai had a stomachache. So it was the cake eh?

  5. lelangir says:

    this is a bigger troll than endless eight orz

  6. 0rion says:

    As another note, the times when the English translation had Mirai saying “we”, the Japanese was always very intentionally vague and neutral.

    • As someone completely incapable of understanding let alone translating Japanese, I’m struggling with this. I can’t place when and where this would make a difference in the understanding and experience of the show. I surmise that the intentional vagueness is consistent with the narrative method/tack the show has taken over the last two episodes.

    • lelangir says:

      I know I heard her say “watashitachi” a lot (I vaguely know what the -tachi particle does), though I’m not at all knowledgeable of the Japanese connotation of it.

  7. madmind says:

    …and the other people never truly said ‘you’ to Mirai in a plural form like ‘kimitachi’.

    During reading this post I also had a vague idea what could happen next.
    On another blog I stated the idea that Mirai might blame herself for Yuuki’s death and hence invert her statement from episode one (‘The world should just break’) to ‘I should just break’, resulting in a suicide attempt that gets prevented by Mari. That would more or less overstretch her character arc that also more or less finished with this episode in my eyes, showing a non-spoiled girl who truly wanted to help and achieved this goal, the total opposite of the little bastard at the beginning we loved to hate. It also marked the fulfillment of her statement in episode 5 that she can do something.

    Phew.

    Okay, while reading this post I suddenly had the feeling that Mirai *will* blame herself, but only after her *parents* will blame her for Yuuki’s death. Not only would this be the total opposite compared to Mari’s family which is full of warmth but also show a harsh level of cruelty with which Mirai cannot deal.

    If the show indeed goes this way and doesn’t chicken out, this also results in Mirai’s family breaking up as stated by ghostligthning (‘there is no family in Mirai’s future’). The parents will divorce and Mirai will live with Mari.

    Well, that’s only my theories, though. The next episode will show if I am partly right or fully wrong…

    • Your theories are rather interesting, and I think I’ll be entertained to watch them play out. Mari becoming Mirai’s adoptive mother is an interesting fantasy, both kind and cruel all at once.

  8. DonKangolJones says:

    Cruel. That is exactly the word that came to mind most during this episode. It felt from the beginning that hope was simultaneously being suffocated, and at the same time being dangled in our faces. Mari’s neighborhood was utterly destroyed. It was powerful and effective.

    The reunion of Mari’s family was the levity I needed after what was about one and a half episodes of despair. It’s ironic that “Yuuki” was the only semblance of hope early in this episode. When even the strong and optimistic Mari had been emotionally crushed and had accepted the yet determined loss. Yuuki was Yuuki, even if just in spirit.

    It almost feels… awkward or inappropriate to say that I was entertained by this show, seeing as it comes across as a collection of trying and miserable events for the characters. Eventhough we do this with every show we watch. People die, family members go missing, homes are destroyed and lives are forever changed. But this show has felt more personal than most. Even the close call in this episode makes me reflect a little more on family.

    I also thought it was interesting how you mentioned the viewers don’t get a chance to mourn. Not to mention the unique viewing experience of being left with a cliffhanger and not being able to do anything to deal with the situation besides WAIT and THINK. It’s torture whether you watch anime, read manga, or have to suffer through almost any form of story telling. In TENGEN TOPPA GURREN LAGANN, the audience gets a period of mourning. The story moves on, but you can tell that the audience was given time to adjust and cope along with the main protagonist. This episode leaves you holding onto hope, in essence holding onto Yuuki in more ways than one. We’ll have to let go of Yuuki once Mirai does.

    • Yes, this, exactly. You’ve said succinctly what I’ve attempted to communicate here.

      In addition to that, allow me to respond to some of what you shared:

      The levity in the Kusakabe family I feel is also a form of cruelty; first towards us, because as happy the event is — our thoughts are really occupied by Yuuki. Second, this scene will register in Mirai’s consciousness and memory. Think about how she tells Yuuki to leave the Kusakabe’s to their intimate moment. When she comes to the truth about her brother, she can’t help but see this scene as cruel; even if she wished it to happen, and will continue to wish Mari all the best.

      She could also resent Mari for allowing her delusion to run wild like this. She may take Mari’s good intentions as weakness, and ultimately cruelty.

  9. Yuuki says:

    “Onee-chan, you know…”

    “Yuuki?”

    “Please don’t forget to give mama her present.”

    “Farewell, Onee-chan… love you.”

    “YUUKI!!!!”

    • Thanks for dropping by, Yuuki. Thanks for the memories. They call you St. Yuuki now you know. Intercede for me when you talk to Kami-sama and tell him I’ve wanted a giant robot all my life. I’d appreciate it if you could facilitate this request on my behalf. Thanks.

  10. inter4ever says:

    Hi there,

    I discovered this blog a few months ago and it became a must read for me. Thanks for the effort. I really like your style and cannot wait the next pieces you write. I went to http://ghostlightning.tumblr.com/post/162197789/on-a-reading-tear-over-the-past-2-weeks-ive and found that you might watch at least 2 animes from what you listed. Make sure one of them is Saikano. That anime is one of the most tragic pieces I saw in my life! It even left me with a strange feeling for 3 whole nights after finishing it. I am very interested to see what you think about it after you watch it.

    • Thank you very much. Hmmm, I’ll definitely keep the Saikano anime in mind then! Most likely I will write about the manga first when I come to read it. Currently I’m enjoying Narutaru.

      • animewriter says:

        Yah,that’s what you need. If you mainline the Saikano and Narutaru manga back to back Mirai will save a seat of you next to her on the “I’m so depressed I went crazy” truck.

        • LOL I won’t bet against it!

          • X10A_Freedom says:

            Could always try playing the Visual Novel “Narcissu”. :P That left me gutted inside out for a WEEK!

            Again, thanks for your post. You took my thoughts and placed them into words about the “suspense” and “grieving is prohibited!” – for now. It would be interesting for you to check out the Animesuki thread on this series which is full of discontent about the way Yuuki is being presented. Personally, I’m enjoying the ride very much!

          • I’m not very good at VNs, it’s been almost a year and I’m still stuck in the middle of UBW in F/sN. I’ll check out Narcissu when I get around to it.

            I’m not a member I think, and I don’t have the time or energy to invest in forum business (I hardly even post on Mechatalk and Macrossworld). I’ve found that a lot of what could be post ideas I end spending on forum discussion. You’ll forgive me if I want to keep it tight in blogpost format.

            That said, feel free to copypasta interesting forum posts here and I’ll be happy to discuss them. If I go to a link I’ll end up getting sucked in the discussion LOL, and forum denizens can be toughguys who don’t like losing at arguments.

  11. Kiri says:

    I think this episode confirmed for me Yuuki’s death. Last week, even after having to see you guys spaz all over it on Twitter, I couldn’t see why anyone thought Yuuki was dead until after I read up all the conspiracy theories. But then it made sense and it was creepy because really, I don’t think I’ve ever been toyed with like that before. Could a series REALLY be that awesome so as to mess with everyone like that? Really? But this week, all the theories seem to be confirmed by… not confirming anything. The identification thing definitely made for a nice theme, especially considering there would have been no confusion at Yuuki’s death had he actually died when he had. That Mirai would have had confirmation immediately makes this long, drawn-out lack and forth for the audience even more ironic, even if Mirai might have immediately rejected the confirmation — in contrast to Mari, who was quick to accept everything too quickly.

    No one has spoken to Yuuki in two episodes besides Mirai. No one has looked at him. The driver did not look at him to see if he was also injured. Yuuki was the one who urged Mirai to keep looking for Hina — to keep looking for a DEAD PERSON. Hmmmmm. :(

    • For me it was about watching the show a second time, but the lack of confirmation is the huge thing here.

      But then it made sense and it was creepy because really, I don’t think I’ve ever been toyed with like that before. Could a series REALLY be that awesome so as to mess with everyone like that? Really? But this week, all the theories seem to be confirmed by… not confirming anything.

      Yes, I feel toyed with in an epic way. I’m secure enough to say that I’m impressed, for serious. I’m glad you feel the way you do about the corpse identification theme. I wonder how Mirai remained uninvolved in that process with Yuuki, but she could’ve been asleep the whole time (dreaming of his death too).

  12. 2DT says:

    Too late for me to experience this show the way you’ve experienced it. I’m behind, and I largely rely on reading you to see what’s going on. But if the show is worth its salt, I will still feel some impact even when I see it coming and brace myself. From the sounds of it, this show might be.

    • I can only hope (hehe hope -_-;) that reading my posts won’t be diminishing the value of experiencing the show for you. I don’t mean to suggest that the experience will be bad and there will be diminished impact; only that the specific experience of watching a show as it airs… I wish I could’ve seen Haruhi, and Gurren Lagann during the time they aired.

      Both these shows impressed me a great deal and I watched them in marathons — though in TTGLs case I marathoned only up to a certain point and saw the 2nd half while it still aired. However, I had not discovered the community of anime blogs, /m/ and the like so I still feel that I missed something special.

      • 2DT says:

        True, there’s nothing quite like following a new show with people. It’s what keeps the fandom alive, the seasonal cycle of excitement. But I think I’ll be okay. I enjoy reading your episodic posts.

  13. kadian1364 says:

    In regards to TM8.0, to limit myself on what I say until its conclusion, I’ll just say my stance has been turned in regards to the fate of the one in question, and if things do turn out the way everyone is expecting, color me enormously impressed. Part of me just didn’t believe that they could do it this well, that what people were seeing was merely an accident and matters of unlikely circumstance. 99 times out of 100 that would’ve been the right bet, but in this case I plainly underestimated TM8.0′s storytelling ability.

    The topic of marathoning vs weekly viewing is one that I wrangle with often. Where everyone has a different pace they prefer, I have a limit to how many episodes of one series I can watch straight through. The number differs between shows, it’s something I feel internally, but I stop at a point to give time to absorb and reflect on the batch of episodes I just saw, sleep on it, and prepare myself for more. I make it an emphasis to watch 2-4 episodes per night over a week or two, for fairness sake.

    For example, how would you watch a slow-paced series like Aria? I think marathoning it would be a mistake. Or how about Legend of the Galactic Heroes? That’s simply unsightly to try to marathon, even over several days.

    • Believe it or not, I’m just as surprised as you are. I think that all of this is possible because this show has maintained its focus on such an intimate story. Some viewers are expecting the city of Tokyo to be more of the focus, hence the wish to see more violence, more grimness, an uglier side to people (which to me seems a projection of evil that reflects how little credit they give people in general).

      As to viewing, I watch only a few shows per season. Most of the shows I watch are viewed in marathons. However, the size of the legs (or to use a buffet metaphor, binges) are more manageable.

      Both Aria and Legend of the Galactic Heroes are shows I watched with my wife and we both love them dearly. We marathoned them at a pace of 3-6 episodes a night. It took us a far longer time to complete both shows (in the former’s case I include the sequels. I relate to the group of shows as a single narrative, virtually a 50-episode anime).

      • kadian1364 says:

        I think our ideas of marathons are slightly divergent. What you call a marathon at 3-6 episodes, I call a weekend. I’m thinking of the 5+ hour kind, where you complete a whole 12 episode series in one sit-through. I’m afraid much of a series is potentially lost when its consumed that way. It’s unimaginable to try and marathon something like Kaiba and still enjoy it, believe me, I’ve tried it myself. I found that I needed to maintain a slower overall pace or I’d just burn out near the end of more demanding anime.

  14. TheBigN says:

    When I first saw it mentioned, I was like, “Wait, what?”, but then re-watching 8 and 9 again, things are starting to match up. I still think it could be another scenario, like the parents aren’t there anymore, and coupling that with this would be quite cruel. I like how this last bit has been set up though, and I’d really want to see if it happened that Mirai was never really able to move on. Not because I want to see characters like that (only sometimes), but because it’s an option about her that none of us really ever considered before from the start of the series.

    • So you want to see a surprise twist to see if the show can trump plot expectations? Interesting. I don’t mind it, as long as it results in a good story well-told. So far, so freaking good.

  15. Turambar says:

    …it only hit me AFTER I read this post… Oh god damnit now I’m wishing I didn’t read this bloody blog tonight. Now there’s no way I’m gonna fall asleep.

    • LOL. I was you an episode ago. I ended up writing a second post to the related ep just because I totally missed it as well.

      • Turambar says:

        The more painful part for me was, I always expected Yuuki to not make it to the end. Since this story was about Mirai’s growth through the trials this earthquake would bring about her, Yuuki’s death seemed the most obvious to me. So when watching episode 7, I spent half of it bracing for the inevitable. But, man I feel like I just got sucker punched.

      • Turambar says:

        I almost forgot to add. God damnit that’s why he’s still wearing that backpack even though we see it left back at the hospital as well. And now, I’m pretty sure now that he’s going to say something along the lines of:

        Yuuki: Onee-chan, you left mom’s present back at the hospital.
        Mirai: Mom’s present? Isn’t it in your backpack?
        Yuuki: I’m sorry we can’t celebrate mom’s birthday together. *disappears*

  16. kadian1364 says:

    Nearly a week after the fact, I noticed the screenshots you used point to a significant clue: Mari runs out to see off Mirai with Yuuki’s bag in hand, yet in the truck Yuuki is wearing his bag. Oooooooohhhhhh!!!!!!!

  17. Gargron says:

    I agree. They just went on with making Yuuki mytsically disappear in certain scenes. And what makes the another, living idea last is that Mari, unexplicabably, still didn’t tell anything about Yuuki.

    I don’t exactly know why, but I’d like to cut the ‘The cake is a lie’ out of context. ^__^

  18. FFFFFFFF says:

    EPISODE 10.

    ;_;

    I will be looking forward to your post.

Leave a Reply

