The Anime Blog You Should Read RIGHT NOW

Yeah yeah he’s been scratching my back for almost a year but despite his claims, the love has been one-way, at least from the standpoint of posts I write that link to him and his. This changes today. Here I recommend that you read Fuzakenna! by 21stcenturydigitalboy. Admittedly up until a few days ago I haven’t been too happy with the posts he’s been doing. While I’ve always believed in his talent (he’s one of the first anime bloggers who contacted me for collaboration and BY ZEUS we did and he kicked ass), there’s a disproportionate ratio between suck and awesome in his bibliography, with most of his older material he freely admits as pieces he’s no longer proud of.

He’s been desperate to get a larger audience all year (and forever) but is unwilling to do the things that people actually like. He won’t stop whining about it though. So why read him now?

It’s because he actually begged readers to tell him what they’d like to read. Now it isn’t the first time he did this. He’s done it so often that he’s like the drunken, dirty hobo by the dumpster in our sphere; see “My Audience“, and “Tell me what to write you little fucks!” But what really made a difference is THIS POST: “The Anime that I Just Never Talk About” which is a complete ripoff of my own post recently but I’m not complaining since he tracked back to it.

It’s not a good post. It’s just him showing off the awesome shows he’s seen and claims to be more than capable of writing on. Yeah, whatever.  But as in many cases where comments exceed the contribution of the main body of the post (i.e. the discussion contributed by awesome readers to my own writings on Bakemonogatari), I joined a jacked-up mob of readers and bombed the post with comments. We basically dared digiboy to write posts that we’d like to see and read (perhaps even write ourselves given different circumstances).

Well I’ll be Kamina’s sunglasses, he fucking DARED.

It’s like digiboy is some kind of Benjamin Button, the hobo Simon Jeeha growing younger and more awesome as he goes along, until some point in the future when he jumps the shark and has a sex change and we’ll witness GAR Simon turn into a moe moe little girl from Strike Witches who incorrigibly refuses to wear pants who’d fuck Date Masamune from Sengoku Basara and blog the sextape to get Sankaku Complex to link to him/her/it.

He’s kicking reason to the curb as we speak.

eureka 7 ED 04 eureka war doll

He writes about two shows that may or may not be obviously related save for being animated on a specific theme. He goes deep into the bones of the matter. He then draws a parallel between those subjects and another unrelated idea (at times related to ‘Real Life.’ Then proceeds to (not) fuck it up.

As of this writing, he’s fulfilled two requests and is currently fulfilling the third request spread over many posts. Don’t just take my word for it, I’ve quoted some reactions!

1. Canaan vs. Black Lagoon: A Battle of Battles

Chris K.
September 22nd, 2009 at 8:07 pm
Wow, I’m impressed at how quickly you got this post out, and I didn’t think you fucked it up.

2. Strike Witches and Sengoku Basara – the Nudity of Concept

Owen S
September 23rd, 2009 at 11:12 pm ·
You didn’t fuck this up. Good job! From what I saw (fringe views, mostly audience reactions and whatnot) you definitely captured the spirit of both. Excellent.

Now write more, and go deep into the bones of the comments. There’s a lot more waiting for you. Don’t fuck them up!

3. 100 Characters for 100 Otaku (100-96) OH NO HE DIDN’T!?! This series will be 20 posts in total every day for the next 19 days. The latest one may already be out!

lolikitsune
September 24th, 2009 at 8:12 pm
oh my god
you’ve taken this too far

schneider
September 24th, 2009 at 8:46 pm
What has science done?

ghostlightning
September 24th, 2009 at 8:35 pm
EPIC. This is soooo fucking far beyond too far your ass went around the world to find your own penis again.

back hand compliment

Alright, I’ve made enough back handed compliments, and to think he’s always been good and complimentary towards me except when he’s being a douche (HE HAD ALL OF IT CUMMINGS, trust me). Read Fuzakenna! now. I really mean it!!!

About ghostlightning

I entered the anime blogging sphere as a lurker around Spring 2008. We Remember Love is my first anime blog. Click here if this is your first time to visit WRL.
This entry was posted in favorites of the week, meta and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to The Anime Blog You Should Read RIGHT NOW

  1. This is obviously the best post ever :D It means a lot from you, GL!

    One thing though, I’m actually going to have to ask you to remove that second image. I don’t feel comfortable with that being there without that person knowing, in fact I should probably delete it from my own post.

  2. otou-san says:

    I refused to be blamed for any of this so don’t even try!

  3. The Longcoat says:

    Don’t have to tell me twice. I’m keeping up with it just to see if he can actually do it.

    • If you use WordPress dot com you should enter the url of your blog in your profile settings. Otherwise include your link when you add a comment when prompted. I can’t get to your Utena posts otherwise! Not to mention readers of this post.

      I shouldn’t have to tell you this twice ya know.

  4. gloval says:

    I am 12 and what is this?

  5. Ryan A says:

    Some of za links they be broken. O.o I wonder if I am subscribed to digiboy’s blog… lol

  6. Seinime says:

    lol, it’s all good

  7. X10A_Freedom says:

    Off-topic but I hope you managed to ride out the floods ok.

  8. 2DT says:

    This entry seems to have grown up and had babies since the last time I saw it. I could swear it was only about half the size.

    But I agree. Whether or not he “fucks it up,” it makes for interesting reading, which is what we should all essentially strive for.

    • YES. NAIL ON THE HEAD AGAIN.

      I value ‘interesting’ more than I value ‘factual/objective truth’ when it comes to anime blogging. At the end of the day I read to be entertained and I try to write to produce the same effect. Right now, Fuzakenna is the place to be!

  9. animekritik says:

    interesting choices for post pics. i wonder what a non-english speaker would make of them.

    • 1. Fugly photo of a fugly blogger of a fugly blog that is totally worth reading now.
      2. Eureka, a battle-doll who wants to give love after being a tool of war.
      3. Backhand = back handed compliment; did my pun fail? Oh yes, to a non-english speaker it will.

  10. Pingback: 100 Characters For 100 Otaku (Part Four: 85-81) « Fuzakenna!

Leave a Reply

