What Should I Watch This Fall?

macross mikimoto haruhiko minmay hikaru misa posterNo Macross. T_T moar ghostlightning.

I will try to sample up to three shows, with a view to blogging one every episode. For the show I choose to write about, it needs to be no more than 13-14 episodes. I don’t think I can sustain blogging a show for more than three months. Also, I won’t be watching any of the sequels. I can only do so for Macross shows, because I must tell you how much I love it.

So what show am I looking for?

bakemonogatari 06 blue ships of nisioisin and dragon

I want a show that is interesting above all. It doesn’t have to be guaranteed to be excellent. I am lucky to have chosen Tokyo Magnitude 8.0 and Bakemonogatari this summer, when both shows are very good, very meaty, and very popular. But excellence is not a requirement.

I want a show that lends well to discussion. Bakemonogatari is extremely rich for this, but it’s dangerous to make it some kind of benchmark. I just want a show that there’s so much to talk about that many blogs can be writing about it and yet talk about different things. A bad example is Shin Mazinger Z Hen. I love it. It’s so much fun. But anything I have to say about it can be said in 140 characters, IN CAPITAL LETTERS.

With regards to genre, I’ll try all sorts of things. I’m not as big on moe moe shows or harem, but I’ll try them if they’re interesting. I’ve no systemic problem with shoujou or shounen shows, as long as they’re interesting.

Why do I want to do this? It’s because I love discussion, and I love organizing discussion around a theme. I think I love discussion more than a nebulous idea like ‘getting it right’ about a show. If I could invite the kind of discussion that leaves ghosts, I’d be the happiest anime blogger this fall.

Notes:

I’ve seen Kämpfer. I dislike it and will not watch any further than I already have.

If you want to post youtube videos in the comments (previews, etc) use (open bracket + ‘youtube’ + ‘=’ + ” + url of yt video + ” + close bracket)

If you see someone post a suggestion you agree with, just reply to that person by typing “+1″ (or +9000 if you feel strongly enough). So help me out here, and just maybe I can write posts that’ll make you want to talk anime here on WRL.

About ghostlightning

I entered the anime blogging sphere as a lurker around Spring 2008. We Remember Love is my first anime blog. Click here if this is your first time to visit WRL.
This entry was posted in meta and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

79 Responses to What Should I Watch This Fall?

  1. adaywithoutme says:

    I think you should check out Kobato – the manga is simply delightful, and I believe it is only scheduled for a twelve or thirteen episode run. I’m also pretty confident that it’ll have a good adaptation, since Madhouse has some pretty impressive shows under its belt in the past year (Mouryou no Hako, Kurozuka, etc.).

  2. RP says:

    Hmm, I do think it would be amusing to see you try to post about a bomb like Kampfer with the utmost seriousness. ;-)

    • It would be inauthentic. I won’t enjoy trashing a show. I seldom do. And if I don’t trash a show I genuinely dislike, with the purpose of creating an enjoyable reading experience is something still beyond my powers as an entertainer. I will try such on one-shots first, as training. If it works, then I may try it on other shows.

  3. Baka-Raptor says:

    My Guide to Picking Summer Anime doesn’t necessarily work for fall anime, but if you’re out of options, it’s worth a shot.

    • Under your method (which kind of rocks) I will not watch anything. I did not want to think too hard hence this post. So, I need readers to think for me so I can blame them when I don’t enjoy myself watching the show.

  4. DonKangolJones says:

    HA! Your guess is as good as mine! The only thing I’m guaranteed to watch is the final installment of InuYasha, & that’s because I want to close that chapter of my life. I have heard some positive hype about Winter Sonata, Letter Bee seems like an interesting concept, my yuri loving friends are reminding me to check out Sasameki Koto. And I’ll give Fairy Tail a shot since I’m hoping for something violent and awesome. Everything else is left to hype & luck for me.

    But above all else, I want my damn mecha! I guess I’ll take this opportunity to finally finish VOTOMS….

  5. OGT says:

    I suggest the series you’re interested in watching.

    And Kimi ni Todoke. But the first one first.

  6. kadian1364 says:

    I don’t know if anything I’m picking this coming season is any good, much less blog worthy by the likes of you. Well here goes anyway.

    Nyan Koi! is likely a safe pick. Light RomCom with 1000x the usual amount of cats, or so I hear. 12 episodes.

    In a similar train of thought, Kobato sounds decent enough, although it’s billed as 24 episodes. I don’t know how familiar you are with CLAMP, but this doesn’t look like a LOLCLAMP series to me, seems more like fluffy shoujo Aria-esque fare. +1, for whatever that’s worth.

    Trapeze looks crazy, like the good kind. If there’s one series this fall that’s not a sequel/continuation where you can really sink your teeth into, I’m betting this will be the one. 11 episodes.

  7. Ryan A says:

    I has no comment T_T twas eaten…

  8. Dan says:

    Actually, sadly, I don’t see nothing as good as TM or Bakemonogatari. I would suggest Winter Sonata because the original drama is popular, or Kimi ni Todoke, but I don’t know if it can be not-clichèd romance… There is Darker than black 2nd season but I know that doesn’t count.
    There is Sangoku Engi, Chinese-Japanese anime adaptation of the Romance of the Three Kingdoms, but I couldn’t find any subs (it started in these days).
    Pretty weak fall, actually. I suggest to think if you missed any recent but already aired better animes.

  9. digitalboy says:

    ROLMAO at you disliking Kampfer. You pretentious ass :p

    I think Letter Bee is going to be the show for discussion this season. The pilot wa the perfect kind of show that is high quality, but not something that will have any problem being popular, and still interesting. First real ep is out, haven’t seen it, but I recommend it.

  10. Kambei says:

    Nyan koi looked interesting to me too. That’s probably the main one I’ll be following.

  11. Shance says:

    +15 on Kimi no Todoke, +10 on Trapeze, +5 on Thriller Restaurant.

    The rest are either lacking of depth (plot and character-wise), or reeking of moe factors turned marketing possibilities (fanservice, the works). Railgun overdid it, Nyankoi and Kampfer came out too generic without much of a storyline, and the rest either lost me, or made me throw my interest out of the window.

    Also, Owen has possible dibs on DtB, IMO.

  12. Panther says:

    +9000 to Darker than Black, why the hell are you not watching this? WTF?

  13. DK Eternity says:

    Yes, watch DtB. That’s all I can say about it.

    Nyankoi is okay so far. It’s generic comedy, but it works. Letter Bee also looks to be an interesting show, though this is just coming from someone who watched 2/3 of episode 1. I’m also interested to see Winter Sonata (due to the many people telling me how great the original drama is), Trapeze, Kimi no Todoke, and Kobato. And if I have time, maybe I’ll check out Fairy Tail as well.

  14. sadakups says:

    Kampfer = gender-bending Mai-Hime. Some show that you’ll need turn your brain off and fap to school girls if you’re into it. Like me.

  15. Seinime says:

    Ew Kampfer. Do more serious analysis on serious anime, please. But if you do Winter Sonata +1.

  16. Gorilla says:

    Seiken no Blacksmith, Trapeze, Aoi Bungaku

  17. Caraniel says:

    Trapeze, Aoi Bungaku and Letter Bee probably have the most discussion potential

  18. Ryan A says:

    Previous comment:

    “(open bracket + ‘youtube’ + ‘=’ + ” + url of yt video + ” + close bracket)” … that’s complicated, and I thought /anime/Shin Mazinger Z/25. was complicated D: (also, you never update melative anymoar T_T)

    Maybe the question you should ask is “what not to watch” as well… might be even more feedback that way ^^

    Recommendations are really tough (or they should be). I’ll give you this. I’ve watched sampled 4 series so far and wouldn’t suggest any of them to you. Things I would suggest haven’t aired yet, afaik (doing my little ’01 720′ query on raws@TT).

    Maybe keep a heads up for the shoujoish stuff (Kobato. and Reaching You/Kimi ni Todoke), as well as 11eyes and Winter Sonata.

    Cheerios~

    • I haven’t been watching anime yet, is why I don’t update. I haven’t been reading manga either. The quotation marks aren’t necessary apparently. LOL me.

      • Ryan A says:

        Alright, I’m going to re-enforce Reaching You and Kobato., or at least Reaching You. I’ll likely be watching 5-6 series, but yea… this and that are different issues ^^

        Maybe Letter Bee, but I have no clue since I know very little about it. Though I do recall a friend having good things to say about the manga a year or so back. Could be cheesy though.

  19. adaywithoutme says:

    After seeing everyone else’s comments, I’m thinking you’re gonna be stuck just watching the first episode of everything… except for maybe Sora no Otoshimono.

  20. animewriter says:

    Sorry, but I’m late to this game, but judging by what you seem to like I would second and third some of the other commenter’s recommendations by suggesting Trapeze, Kimi ni Todoke, Winter Sonata, and maybe Romance of the three Kingdoms.

  21. Well the only one I could think to recommend atm is Darker Than Black 2. However if you haven’t seen Darker Than Black then that might not be an option. For the first time in a while there’s nothing I can see in the seasonal previews that leaps out at me and says, “you need to watch this Kaioshin”.

  22. BluEnigma says:

    Sorry, got nothing other than A Certain Scientific Railgun (To Aru Kagaku no Chodenjibou/Railgun), and I’m expecting that to be more “guilty pleasure fanservice/superpowers/yuri show that I’m only watching because ‘Railgun’ is in the title.”

  23. The Longcoat says:

    Romance of the three Kingdoms sounds awesome. So… try watching that? The art style looks suspiciously like Avatar. Hmm.

    I haven’t really liked anything else I see for this fall, but maybe that will change as I keep an eye on what others are saying.

  24. Vendredi says:

    Will echo the recommendation for Trapeze. Also, perhaps “Toaru Kagaku no Railgun” (A Certain Scientific Railgun) may be worth looking into, although I am dubious. The series it is spun off from, “Toaru Majutsu no Index”, had fairly smart dialogue and characters (relatively speaking); hopefully some of that carries over into Railgun even though it does look considerably more fan-service-y. Well with J.C. Staff, at least it’s beautifully animated fanservice.

    The opening, for your previewing convenience: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JFfOFP8p0eg&feature=related

  25. drmchsr0 says:

    Sunred and Eagle Talon.

    Then again, No one knows of Eagle Talon.

  26. hazy says:

    I’d say DtB2 too, but since you’re not in the mood to finish S1 anytime soon… Letter Bee, Kobato and Kimi ni Todoke sound like they have pretty good potential. ^^

  27. animekritik says:

    hmm…Galaxy Express 999. Oh wait, wrong season. What year is this again??

  28. Cobrafire says:

    Honestly, I have no idea what to watch either (except for Queen’s Blade. What can I say, I like titties….) When you find out, please let me know…

  29. Pingback: THAT Animeblog » Kampfer – 01: A Most Magical Boy

  30. mellow_bunny says:

    This seems like the dangerous choice. Suggestions of the hivemind seem somewhat worse then intuition. Then again, it is only a suggestion.

    Nothing this season seems to be catching my eye. I’m starting to wonder if it’s the shows at fault or if it’s me moving elsewhere in mind.

    • Oh these recommendations mostly confirm intuitions I’ve made on what to watch. But Kobato and Trapeze weren’t on my radar so I’m glad for the suggestions. Also, it gives me an idea on what people will be interested in reading about.

      Current seasons have that kind of utility for me. Less about finding a show to truly wow me, but more about giving me material to organize discussions around from week to week.

      From the surface, nothing is relevant to my interests, fyi… same as last season, but Bakemonogatari and Tokyo Magnitude 8.0 happened too.

  31. Pingback: Fall Fail Festival 09: FFFFF We Hate the New Season (Philippine Edition) « We Remember Love

Leave a Reply

