On Enjoying Works You Don’t Like and liking works you didn’t enjoy

tengen toppa gurren lagann movie dai gurren dan ultimate gunmen team

I posit that it is possible to dislike a show or manga despite the fact that one enjoyed the experience of it. Just the same, it is possible to like a work despite the overall experience of it being not enjoyable. I am suggesting that is not inauthentic to say that “I didn’t really enjoy reading Narutaru, but I like it anyway.” Or, “I enjoyed watching the Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann movies, but dislike them anyway.”

For me, both cases are true, and this complicates the admittedly unimportant activities like rating these works (on MAL or melative for example). In both cases, I can honestly  say I can recommend both works to others (with caveats).

Here’s a short list of works that I didn’t enjoy watching/reading but like anyway: (links are to blog posts I’ve done on these works)

Sometimes, the case can be complex perhaps. I hate Mobile Suit ZZ Gundam, but I like the fact that I watched it. I won’t recommend it to anyone, but I’m happier that I’ve finished it rather than dropping it.

This may have to do with the satisfaction of being able to endure something I hate passionately, in the name of love for the Gundam franchise, but I’m not sure. Perhaps it has to do with how many fans dash themselves on these cliffs and perhaps never recover. This can apply to some of the above which I consider important or noteworthy, or just part of a franchise that I love.

Note that this isn’t about feeling good because the show looks good on my resume, but rather a sense of accomplishment in having experienced and developing an opinion on a work that has provoked a lot of discussion — regardless whether I write about it or not. More importantly, these shows are referenced by other shows and I value this ability to ‘remember love’ very highly.

Here’s a short list of works that I enjoyed watching/reading but disliked anyway:

In the case of School Rumble, the ending screwed it up for me. It’s special in that the chapters leading up to the end were actually very enjoyable and hinted at resolutions or at least progressions that would have been awesome indeed. So the increased anticipation, plus spectacular disappointment led to me getting really really pissed off.

In the case of the TTGL movies, I felt that the fanservice was valued more than anything else; I felt like I ate a huge pizza topped with hamburgers and ice cream. I can’t say I didn’t enjoy seeing all those new robots and drills, but I don’t think the show needed any more drills.

It’s hard to make a rule to govern or explain this, but I am interested if either or both of these things ever happens to you, and your reasons when they do. Let me know!

Further Reading

Harsh! Consuming Media Not-So-Related to Our Interests – In this post I talked about moods as well as consuming works outside our interests. These aren’t major considerations for the topic at hand.

About ghostlightning

I entered the anime blogging sphere as a lurker around Spring 2008. We Remember Love is my first anime blog. Click here if this is your first time to visit WRL.
This entry was posted in meta and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to On Enjoying Works You Don’t Like and liking works you didn’t enjoy

  1. schneider says:

    I think I get the distinction, but I can’t seem to put into an exact formula how I “like” or “enjoy” something.

    Following your line of thought, I didn’t enjoy watching Might Gaine, but I liked it. I didn’t like Code Geass R2, but I enjoyed it.

    • Yes, and while I know about your Might Gaine experience, I don’t quite know about your R2 one. What exactly about it don’t you like (because I’m probably in the same boat)?

      • schneider says:

        R2 was written in a way that annoyed me. Sure, the massive twists (mostly concerning Jeremiah and Lelouch’s mom) were humongously entertaining while I was following it weekly, but in hindsight it was a really empty experience for me. I just don’t like stories that favor bombast over cohesive writing.

        • In general I don’t favor bombast, but for certain shows I don’t mind so much… and in Code Geass I never minded it at all. I’m sure it won’t satisfy any of the strict formalist standards for writing, but then again I don’t watch anime for these things. If there was anything I didn’t appreciate as much in R2 it was the power escalation of the Knightmare Frames which resulted in lots of beam spam and reduced the interesting battles from R1 into basically Dynasty Warriors and not even as fun.

  2. digitalboy says:

    Never happens to me, brah. Like and enjoy are synonymous to me. And I eat pizza with hanburger and bacon and pepperoni on it all the time. s’fuckin good.

    • digitalboy says:

      You know, I’ve given this some real thought, and I’m wrong. Because of arthouse. There is a part of me that intrinsically likes arthouse shows, but rarely do I enjoy them. The true pinnacle of this is the movie’s Angel’s Egg by Mamoru Oshii. The film is almost unbearably to watch, but I can’t get over this idea that I really did like it.

      Maybe I should examine my list carefully. I think I could pull more stuff like this out of the shows I don’t remember as well.

      • Arthouse huh? I don’t have a taste for those, but I don’t think they’re bad. However this is different from disliking them… as indifference isn’t relevant to this discussion (i.e. I don’t really care for Kuchuu Buranko, but not wanting to watch it isn’t the same as disliking it I feel).

  3. Myssa Rei says:

    There’s a precarious balance for some people, but then there are watchers like me that don’t really care either way, because the enjoyment factor outweighs the ‘like’ factor. I can take all the enjoyment I can given how stressful my work environment is.

  4. Baka-Raptor says:

    You know those crappy shoujo dramas you can’t stand but can’t stop watching? Yeah, those.

  5. Was Haruhi Season 2′s animation really that muddy looking or is it just the screenshot quality? I honestly can’t remember.

    • Drive-by Haruhi-haet. Wow. (fyi the cap is from a shitty encode)

      • Another apology for Haruhi Season 2 and dig at ZZ Gundam and F91. Wow. Thanks for the answer.

        Still I request that you write a post on trying to enjoy ZZ Gundam, only without the thinly veiled “help get me out of here” tone that afflicted the other one and made it your first “remember hate” article. I mean you already did one on enjoying Haruhi Season 2 before this so if you can do 2 apologies for that nonsense then I’m sure you can work out an article for the nonsense entry of a franchise you supposedly still enjoy and appreciate as a whole.

        • You’re hopeless. Anime isn’t a dichotomy between Sunrise vs. KyoAni.

          I don’t have to apologize for anything. Saying I don’t like something isn’t a dig. Saying I like something isn’t praise either. You should know by now that I don’t review shows here, and that I don’t put myself up as some kind of arbiter of taste.

          But I don’t think you care about that at all. The only thing you care about is curbing the ‘KyoAni internet praise machine’ and stopping the ‘Sunrise internet hate machine.’ I’ve told you a million times, drop this nonsense.

          You never engaged this post for its content. Don’t bother responding to this comment. I’ll delete it. Send me an email if you want me to consider your off-topic ranting.

        • Or is that like? God this article is kind of confusing since I don’t distinguish between like and enjoy so much as enjoy and appreciate. In a lot of cases I’d prefer it to be both, but I can have one or the other as well. For example grudgingly so I kind of appreciate the middle parts of Clannad After Story, while I enjoy parts of Haruhi Season 1.

          Likewise I’m sure you had to appreciate SOMETHING about ZZ Gundam. I’m not taking the whole 1 on MAL thing seriously cause I know you don’t take rankings seriously either. You don’t dislike it that universally or you wouldn’t keep bringing it up. ;)

          • Myssa Rei says:

            Well to be fair, Kaioh has always been like this. :) Heck, I don’t blog anime, and I’m used to it — just one of his habits, ne? No need to get annoyed.

            Unlike Ghostlightning, I liked ZZ. Did I enjoy it as much as, oh, Zeta? Not really, as I felt the latter half was closer to the tone of its predecessor, while it’s first half seemed too much like Xabungle transposed onto the Gundam franchise. The weird contrast between halves definitely put the series low on my ‘enjoyable’ Gundam watch list (whereas Turn A and G Gundam are on top).

          • Kaioh and I are friends and we resolved our disagreements over chat so no worries ^_^

          • Crusader says:

            The only saving grace of ZZ was it was Kamille’s personal nightmare and general hell for all enemies of the Federation it was merely purgatory for Bright Noa for his sin of not slapping the shit out of Kamille enough times to set the fucker straight. Kamille wasn’t the hero and had to watch someone else steal the mecha and get the girl(s). It was also hell for that loli-con Char for while he is in the OP he never gets a loli. Also Axis Zeon gets its ass kicked because Tomino wanted to give all Zekes a Big Fuck You. Also it is proof that Tomino hates Haman. It’s time to accept what it is, Four’s final kiss of death from BEYOND THE GRAVE!

            FYI Puru Puru bathing and Puru Puru clones, a good Gundam does not make. It wasn’t good, but it was funny as fuck like watching Zekes getting slaughtered as they try to runaway from RTX-440 and GMs. As a result only loli-cons and Feddies love ZZ (as a comedy), there are plenty of the former, and not enough of the latter.

          • You mean there aren’t enough ‘only’ feddies. I mean, I think not a lot of Gundam fans pick one side at the expense of hating the other. I dislike BOTH. Rather, ALL factions suck hard in UC Gundam. I wouldn’t pick them ideologically or career-wise. But this is what’s interesting: everybody gets ugly hands of clubs and spades and maybe a dark ace… but you gotta deal.

            Isn’t this fascinating about Gundam ne?

  6. 2DT says:

    In my experience, I enjoy shows, and then my opinion of some of those shows fades over time. It could be overexposure, perhaps, or just a new perspective that isn’t as influenced by “the new hotness.”

    Prime examples are Haruhi and Gurren-Lagann. The overexposure hypothesis holds true so far. :)

    • digitalboy says:

      I think Haruhi is the one show that overexposure has actually hurt for me. With stuff like Lucky Star and Gurren Lagann I thought it would hurt, but hen I rewatched the shows I remembered love (though to be fair, GL still got dragged way down my list). Haruhi, though, I really did sort of tire of.

      • I always felt that Haruhi was on a whole different level then Lucky Star and Gurren Lagann. For starters I didn’t find out about the latter 2 just by browsing around looking for my daily dose of mecha information and little else only to see this brown haired girl with an orange ribbon popping up literally everywhere.

        In my experience I found the latter two while Haruhi found me. Basically I would equate Haruhi to Lady Gaga’s presence whereas Lucky Star and Gurren Lagann are about equivalent to a Beyonce Knowles. The latter is a huge star and quite popular in her own right, but she isn’t constantly forcing herself on the public on an almost daily basis like Lady Gaga. The same could be said of Lucky Star and Gurren Lagann compared to Haruhi I think.

    • I still have high opinions of these shows, despite the overexposure. I think I’ve worked hard to distinguish my own experience to myself from the collective opinion on the show. Some people do get caught up during the heights of the show’s online discussions — which distorts their opinions, and even warps them.

      I’ve seen people put out extremely warped defenses for shows like Code Geass just because they feel that ‘everyone hates it,’ and at the same time people like these will go out of their way to act tough on shows like Toradora! and Bakemonogatari just because they are popular the way they wish their pet shows are popular.

      I like all three examples a lot, for different reasons, and I did enjoy them for the most part.

    • DTU says:

      There was a point when Gurren Lagann was just “That new Gainax show”. I remember at one point it was in the top 10 highest rated list on Animenewsnetwork. Then it became mainstream over here, more people checked it out and disliked it :P

  7. gaguri says:

    I get your distinction but doesn’t happen to me. If I enjoy something, I’m going to like it.

    When it gets trick for me is the ‘impact/experience’ and enjoyment. Sad movies like Grave of the Fireflies, cold and stale ones like Sky Crawler, or even artistic experiments such as Angel’s Egg are far from what you’d call enjoyment, but the experience and impact is still enormous. Titles like Railgun have high enjoyment value but at the end of the day, there is very little impact of experience that is lasting. Some titles have both enjoyment and impact value though, such as TTGL.

    • I think I get what you mean about ‘impact.’ GotF did have quite an impact on me, on the level of gut-wrenching sadness, and on an ideological one: Is this Japan feeling sorry for itself — playing victim in a war they started? Do they get permission from me? — a grandchild of WW2 veterans and victims when the Japanese occupied my country?

      These are but personal concerns and I have no real truck with Ghibli; and I just wanted to share them as part of the impact this work had on me. It provoked these questions and made me examine the anatomy of a grudge and found that I don’t really keep them, nor feel entitled to, even if I think my concerns about GotF are valid.

  8. Martin says:

    I’m not 100% certain I get where you’re going with this, unless you’re saying that ‘the mere act of watching something and discussing it with others’ makes it worth watching even though it doesn’t fit the usual definition of ‘I enjoyed it’. In which case I understand – I watched Megaone 23 with friends, one of whom called it “The movie series that made me the fan I am today.” I didn’t enjpy it as much, but it’s worth seeing for the historical context and of course explained a lot about my buddy’s fanboy fetishes! :P I must admit I mainly watched Haruhi to see why everyone else was making a fuss over it; that question still wasn’t answered satisfactorily and I can’t see myself watching it again, but I don’t think my viewing of it was a waste of my time.

    My own distinction is ‘watchable’ or more accurately ‘rewatchable’ titles versus titles that I admire but don’t feel inclined to rewatch. Gaguri’s stance is closer to mine here: Grave of the Fireflies, Saikano and most things Oshii are excellent at achieving what they set out to do, but I choose Satoshi Kon, Makoto Shinkai or Macross over them every time when I sit down with a cold drink and unwind.

    The aesthetic helps or hinders this as much as the strength of the story: some are easier on the eyes than others. Miyazaki and Shinbo are a good example of this: I’ve rewatched Laputa a zillion times but the imagery of Cosette is a little owverwhelming, but I respect both hugely as vidual art.

    • I think to say I liked something means I invest myself in it enough to form an opinion about it (whether or not I publish the opinion; the same applies to dislike — which I maintain is also distinct from indifference).

      Your experience with Haruhi makes me think that you’re largely indifferent to it, then you got curious, and somehow remain indifferent to it. It’s not quite the same as disliking it, though you didn’t exactly enjoy yourself.

      Rewatchability is the confluence of both ideas I think. I rewatch a lot of individual episodes, and I do go through entire shows all over again every now and then.

  9. Pingback: Getting Into The Bones of the Like vs. Enjoy Conflict – It Exists, You Have It « Fuzakenna!

  10. kadian1364 says:

    I think I exactly understand what you’re getting at. I actively seek out trash as much as treasure because I don’t “enjoy” the sensation of experiencing the truly awful, but I “like” being able to say to myself, ____ was pretty bad, but not as bad as Zero Apocalypse.

    Also, when I’m picking shows to watch with friends I usually don’t go for my favorite shows, the ones I “like” the most because lots of those require deep insight and layers of contemplation and everyone tends to stay quiet. I pick the fun, less complex shows where we can chat away and eat pizza and knock back a couple cold ones and “enjoy” ourselves.

    • Definitely related, even if I don’t share your proclivity of seeking out awful shows. Group viewing is aided by shows that people can shout at: whether in whoops of awesome or raeging derision.

      Summer Wars is a great example of the former, while many moments in the Gundam franchise (i.e. LOLTOMINO) are great for the latter: what can make you want to tear your hair out while you watch alone, can be great fun watching another person froth at the mouth in rage or facepalm in shame as a shared activity.

  11. I think this can be more easily summed up as “respect” versus “entertained.” I respect Bokurano as a piece of art with great qualities, but due to its dark nature I was not entertained by it. On the other hand, I was entertained by Strike Witches, which is a show that one might not respect much due to its “low brow” elements.

    Personally, I respect all shows that entertain me, as they have undoubtedly done quite a few things right in order to make me enjoy them as I did. But there are shows that I respect, even if they failed to entertain me. This is what I was driving at when I posted about shows not compelling me despite their obvious qualities.

    Of course, all I’ve done here is change your words “like” to “respect” and “enjoy” to “entertain,” but I think the new language might better differentiate the two, as “like” and “enjoy” can be easily confused for one another.

    • What if I respect everything? I don’t disrespect or fail to respect any work – regardless of my level of affinity or enjoyment of it. I won’t rate Project A-ko very high (I might have rated it a 1 on MAL) but that doesn’t mean I don’t respect it as a work of animation.

      Even if I’m indifferent to a show, it doesn’t mean I don’t respect it or the people who enjoy it and the shows I dislike.

      • Touché. Then shall we go with relentlessflame’s “appreciate”? I actually rather like that one, as it gets used in a positive-negative juxtaposition often enough, such as “I appreciate your offer, but I must respectfully decline.”

        “I appreciate Bokurano’s characterization, storytelling, etc., but I didn’t really enjoy at the fullest.” That doesn’t sound too bad!

        • It does make sense. It would be correct to say that I have an appreciation of my experience of ZZ Gundam despite the wretchedness of the whole thing ^_^

          But for the reverse, I find it difficult to use… “Despite all the laughs I had and the attractive character design, I don’t appreciate Kannagi.” <– I don't think this statement represents how I feel.

          • Well, actually, you can still use the word appreciate, but in the totally opposite way: you appreciate the flaws. For example, “I appreciate that Kannagi has certain flaws, but I still enjoyed it.” You could also say that you didn’t appreciate the flawed aspects, like “I couldn’t really appreciate the sudden dramatic shift at the end of Kannagi, but I still enjoyed it overall.”

            (Note, none of these statements represent how I personally felt about the show either — just examples.)

            What you’re basically trying to do with these sorts of statements is to separate out your subjective enjoyment from your more-objective observations about the show’s technical/physical/”objective” traits, which is really what I think you were getting at. I still personally believe that, from an entertainment perspective, enjoyment trumps objectivity, but it can still be useful to make the distinction in many cases.

          • The ‘physical’ aspects of the show are indeed part of the ideas here, but the appreciation angle is still hard for me to use. For example, I appreciate that people like Azumanga Daioh and how it became influential to shows that followed, but I dropped it. I neither like nor enjoyed watching it. Yotsuba& however, I like it, enjoy it, and appreciate probably everything about it.

            But this doesn’t invalidate what you share here. I indeed think that one can separate evaluation of some objective aspects of a work from one’s enjoyment of them or the work as a whole.

    • I was going to suggest something similar, though I was thinking more along the lines of “appreciate” (as in “art appreciation”, which is really what this whole issue points to). “Respect” is probably even better, though.

      Redefining the word “like” as something distinct from “enjoying” is unnatural. If you go out of a movie with a friend, and ask them simply if they “liked the movie”, they’re going to naturally equate it to their overall impression, which is a combination of emotional and intellectual factors. It’s perceived to be along a sort of scale like “hate -> didn’t care for it/it was ok -> like -> love”. Someone could very well say something to the effect of “I think it was well-made, but I didn’t really like it”, because that’s more what people mean when they say “like”. Most people treat “like” and “enjoy” as near-synonyms.

      But wordsmithing aside, the general point that enjoyment is separate from a product’s “objective goodness” is obviously important, and one that is incredibly poorly understood by fandom in general.

      • I don’t know about ‘unnatural,’ though the fact that it needs distinction does illustrate how counter-intuitive it is. I can dislike well-made things too. I don’t actively dislike FLCL, but I certainly don’t like it, while acknowledging it’s very good production values, music, and direction. I tried watching it 4 times over 4 years. I only finished it last year.

  12. Caraniel says:

    I completely get this mindset, the most recent examples I can think of would be Kampfer and Akikan – which I hated with a passion, but couldnt stop watching for the life of me as they were fun. Actually this happens to me alot – watching shows while completely aware that they’re absolute shite, yet being entertained at the same time and knowing I’ll probably watch them again.

    And then there’s series like Kaiba and Paranoia Agent, which I know I really loved and highly recommend but would never ever watch again!

    It definately does make rating series a nightmare especially since I know I prize entertainment value most in my anime and some of the shows I thought were excellent, just seem to lack that sense of fun and rewatchability.

  13. Crusader says:

    I understand fully, I watched all of Kampfer and while is by no means good (and gave me a healthy dislike for Natsuru Boy-type) it consistently make me remember love…for yuri. I also enjoyed Canaan despite what other people thought about it, I felt that it was a good action series despite the haet that resulted from the disappointment of inflated expectations, it was good but it led some people to think that it was going to be grandiose instead of solidly competent.

    As most media goes it usually either entertains or engages the viewer it’s rare for something to do both, but wondrous in the event it occurs. Right now Sora no Woto is delivering gloriously on both fronts, but I am prepared for a downer ending.

    In the case of Grave of the Fireflies it was engaging but rather depressing, it was good, but not very fun.

    • Myssa Rei says:

      Tomino in our Sora no Oto? Nooooooo~!

      Incidentally Grave of the Fireflies was the only anime movie I got my sister to watch that had her bawling her eyes out by the end. The same couldn’t be said for 5cm Per Second. ~_~

    • I don’t think it’s that rare, though the level may vary highly. The examples I gave pretty much cover most, if all the shows that fit into the ideas I present here. Most of the time I both like and enjoy the shows I talk about; and when I don’t talk about them, it often means I dislike and didn’t enjoy them, and don’t care enough to make a post about it.

  14. DTU says:

    I’m with you there on the TTGL movies. Instead of thinking OH WOW AWESOME, SUPER TTGL IS A GIANT KAMINA I’d been fed SO VERY MUCH fanservice with the Tengen Toppa-everyones and the good 20 minutes or so they were on I was just like “Uh, can we finish this already?”. It’s a shame instead of fleshing things out they just went the Fanservice route.

    Gaiking: Legend of Daiku-Maryu is another I’m glad I watched but wouldn’t recommend to anyone: Way too much padding and QUALITY. But nonetheless it had heaps of really fun parts.

    • Yeah, I thought the series’ Magical Shopping Arcade Abenobashi final attack was already perfect, and perfectly scored with Sorairo Days. The movie had so much stuff jammed in that the score couldn’t keep up with the energy on the screen.

      I thought they could’ve made a Macross: Do You Remember Love? with the movies, but they instead went for the fanservice smorgasbord.

  15. Canne says:

    Grave of the Fireflies fit the bill for me; I didn’t enjoy it but I like it anyway. But then again, the anime is never meant to be enjoyed and by saying I like it actually means I ‘admire’ it.

    • It was not meant to be enjoyed the same way as say, Summer Wars, but I think there will be those who particularly enjoy the tragedy expressed in small moments: the bitter slices of life, as it were.

      It would also be fair to say that some could enjoy the level of detail and fluidity in the animation, the sparks of fire that lead to the death of the city, kind of like the fireflies that meet their end.

      There’s beauty to be marveled at and enjoyed here. But like you, I admire it but I can’t say I’m enjoying these things the same way I could enjoy other bitter and tragic stories.

  16. Rakuen says:

    Still, “Drills are a man’s romance.”

    One show I never really liked watching was School Days, but I liked it anyway, on a fucked-up note. Then I enjoyed watching Soul Eater, but in the end, I didn’t like it.

    I guess on shows that you enjoyed watching or reading, the ending really plays a huge role on whether you’ll like it in the end.

    • DTU says:

      I’d agree that the ending has a lot to do with how much you like a show. King Gainer had an infuriatingly average ending which enraged me at the time. I’ve come down since then and can still say I liked it, but yeah.

      Likewise, I thought code geass’s ending was one of the safest most crowd pleasing by the numbers endings ever. It was still a completely enjoyable show, though.

      • Yes, a good ending can do much to appease viewers subjected to rage-enducing after raeg-enducing episode. I admit that I had terrible experiences with some of the episodes leading up to the finale of the three big mecha shows in the past years: Gundam 00, Code Geass, and Macross Frontier, but the endings were immense crowd-pleasers, as you say.

        As much as I like distinguishing myself, I have no hangups being pleased along with the crowds in all three cases.

    • Sometimes I think endings are treated too lightly — they’re very important. However, I do sense that in some cases, the endings are somewhat used as an apology for problematic episodes leading up to it.

      This bears some looking into, I don’t think I can expound on this satisfactorily yet.

      • DTU says:

        In my experience the ending can make or break a series. I can think of about half a dozen shows which were great until the ending which dropped the ball completely.

        Macross Frontier’s absolutely infuriated me. No closure over the whole love triangle thing, and suddenly songs have the power to create energy shields and do all kinds of marvelous things they couldn’t in any series prior.

        Heat Guy J also comes to mind. It was great in that all the characters who’d they encountered over the series came together to fight the big bad, yet the Big Bad himself gets off absolutely scotch free just because he was misguided or whatever, despite the fact he’d just gone and killed millions of people.

        Evangelion… Yeah I think you know what I’m going to say here.

        Meanwhile, I absolutely LOVED the ending to The Big-O. To me it fit in perfectly with everything that’d been hinted at previously, as well as the whole “Showtime” and “Action” theme the show seemed to carry.

  17. Ryan A says:

    My god, I’m so backlogged in feed reading. Anyhow…

    I have one slight confusing on the implication of “like.” For this purpose, I can understand “enjoy” but not “like.” Maybe I’ve been grouping like-enjoy together in the wrong way, and with regards to ratings, both concepts may or may not play into a rating (depends on the rater, so we can though ratings out the window lol).. but, I do find that like/dislike relates more closely to ratings (in general) but again depends on the individual.

    One issue I find will affect the enjoy/like balance is the context of the experience. A given context may “force” enjoyment, for instance, when we watch and blog and discuss a series [that really isn't that likable] but it becomes enjoyable because of the context.

    I feel we come across irreplaceable moments when we venture into the realm of “enjoyment,” although both terms are subjective measures.

    The masochism of self-awareness.

    IMO, what this means, or can be classified as is an openness with self or an awareness of self. Frankly, this could be an appended article of the “being ready to experience” concept; it is a second step [if this is a 12-step process w]. . . Dissonance. . . we as viewers should be able to work through the dissonance of any combination we may submit ourselves to (like, enjoy, respect, appreciate, or not… in any combination).

    The greater familiarity we have with ourselves, the more clarity we add to the experience, and what we ultimately feel throughout a journey. If, and when, we lie to ourselves with this clarity, we at least have the confidence and awareness to do so. We become purposely blind for the sake of quantified pleasure.

    Entertainment and media is such an interesting facet of life. :)

    Cheers.

    • Some interesting stuff here…

      Self-awareness is a big deal here. There’s a lot of media that can be liked, enjoyed, appreciated, etc (even without distinguishing these things) without much reflection or self-awareness. That’s okay.

      For some of us however, we like thinking about these things. Not that it’s intrinsically important in general, but important to us in particular. I want to be able to explain to myself (and others) why something is exciting or beautiful to me. Self-awareness is key to this and however weird or strange our reasons are for liking something, there’s this possibility that someone else has a very similar experience.

      And meeting that person, is immensely enjoyable and valuable to me, and I imagine to quite a few others as well.

  18. Pingback: Disorganized thoughts on subjectivity « Pontifus

  19. Pingback: Finish or Fail 19 – If Only A Certain Scientific Railgun Had Been More Like Kamichu « Fuzakenna!

  20. Pingback: Finish or Fail 19 – If Only A Certain Scientific Railgun Had Been More Like Kamichu | My Sword Is Unbelievably Dull

  21. Pingback: Disorganized thoughts on subjectivity « Super Fanicom BS-X

Leave a Reply

