Victims of Typhoon Washi Need Your Help, Here’s How

610x
It’s going to be a very rough Christmas for the residents of Cagayan de Oro City, a beautiful destination along the northern coast of Mindanao, the second large island in the Philippines. Yesterday December 17, 2011 floods caused by the Typhoon Washi killed 200 people and displaced thousands of families. The floods are still causing havoc right now.

I make this appeal to any of the readers and visitors of We Remember Love who have any means to assist in the aid effort for these residents. This is what it’s like:

Your help can make a huge difference.

206421-a-boy-fetches-water-from-a-broken-pipe-among-destroyed-houses-along-a-

I haven’t been to Cagayan De Oro for years, but I’ve flew down there several times the past decade and I loved it. It’s quiet but metropolitan, the sea in the north, mountains in the south.

It really sucks to take in all that devastation, and it’s also why I humbly request for you to help out in whatever way you can. Go visit this link: Philippine Red Cross.

About ghostlightning

I entered the anime blogging sphere as a lurker around Spring 2008. We Remember Love is my first anime blog. Click here if this is your first time to visit WRL.
This entry was posted in only in the Philippines and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Victims of Typhoon Washi Need Your Help, Here’s How

  1. Vucub Caquix says:

    Man…

    I don’t have much, but I’ll see if I can send a few dollars in that direction after my next paycheck.

  2. WhatSht says:

    On this website, the video was Garba Zabi’s funeral speech, but on this post, its the aerial view video.
    Is it my computer messing with me?

    Then again, I don’t have much cash since I’m still a student.

  3. megaroad1 says:

    That was one nasty typhoon. We’re so vulnerable to the freakish power of nature.

    I’ll definitely send a donation if they take paypal.

  4. Hana says:

    Glad you weren’t near it, Ghosty. Thanks for the donation link!

  5. sadakups says:

    Man, that was really sad. To think that here in Manila, it’s traffic everywhere as people are scrambling for last-minute Christmas shopping while people in the south are having the worst Christmas of their lives ever. Who would have thought that a week before Christmas, something like this happens?

  6. Kaioshin Sama says:

    This just feels like the most depressing Christmas season I’ve ever gone through and it’s almost like the problems the world at large is faced with right now just can’t be overcome by Christmas spirit. Not this year. Not much has gone right in the world lately for anyone it seems, but I hope that I can use this opportunity to try and make a difference. I’ll be sending in a donation as soon as I get my next paycheck as well. Glad to hear that you’re okay and my wishes are with the Filipino people in this time of tragedy.

  7. foshizzel says:

    Glad you are doing good! I will donate some monies soon <3

  8. raile says:

    Thank you everyone, for your support.
    Me, along with a lot of people here are spreading relief goods. :)

    Sad to say, majority of those who perished were children and students. T__T
    In fact there are over 500 people in my University, who were affected.

    Also, here is a more updated donation link, as I noticed that the donate button in the link above is no longer available:

    http://www.redcross.org.ph/donatenow

  9. Pingback: Please Help CDO! Flood Victims Need You

  10. Sebz Dima says:

    I’d seen Cagayan de Oro and Iligan, barely a month ago. Quiet hours of traveling, nature-friendly activities, sightseeing…residences along the damned coastline. I gave my donations through the Ateneo fundraiser and to my friends who live there, so yeah.
    On “God’s message”, the interpretation is “by retards, for retards”, which comprises the 80+percent of the national population. Specific by definition, “people who practice Catholicism without depth”.

    (Don’t worry, I’m agnostic, so I can criticize all I want)

    In terms of political…we haven’t been hearing from Aquino himself much. Kris know-nothing-epal Aquino attempted a defense, but we know how that’ll turn out

    • LOL being agnostic doesn’t have to do with anything. Criticism is the privilege of the non ‘tards. To be sure, there are many non ‘tarded Catholic people. They’re just very hard to find. I found one, and married her.

  11. Sebz Dima says:

    my congratulations. hope your kid grows up the same :)

  12. geassed says:

    I run on student allowance so I donated what I could, hope it helps!

  13. Pingback: Mission Trip for Flood Victims in Cagayan de Oro | West Baguio Baptist Church

Leave a Reply

