Lay Your Heart Down Onto The Sea of The Stars, Noburo Ishiguro RIP (1938-2012) We Will Forever Remember Love

[News of Death]

My remembrance may or may not last longer than these Youtube videos staying up, in the midst of all the copyright/internet legislation governments all over the world are attempting. It won’t matter that my purposes here are, nor do I expect authorities or “owners” to even attempt to find out the context. But for now, I am here and offer these to the director of at least three anime that changed my life in terms of appreciation of media and narrative in general.

Noburo Ishiguro passed away yesterday. I never knew anything biographical about him, only knowing that he directed the anime that he did. The list includes Space Battleship Yamato, Super Dimension Fortress Macross, and Legend of the Galactic Heroes. These are shows that I’ve seen in three distinct stages of my life as a fan of anime: infancy (I also happened to have seen Yamato, er, Starblazers before kindergarten age), childhood (I saw Macross while in elementary), and maturity (I saw LotGH at age 32, while I was already blogging anime). Just thinking about it leaves me profoundly impressed, for him to have such an impact on my taste and appreciation.

I can never really and will never really relate to Ishiguro as a person. An anime work has so many contributions for me to distinguish something so concrete to attribute to an individual even with as big a role as chief director. I can only acknowledge the value of the works that exist due to his contributions, with fondness and at times reverence.

Rare video right here!

 

What can I say now that I haven’t already said about Macross? Let me try. There are a number of directorial flourishes, especially in Do You Rememberl Love? that truly captured my imagination. This one scene in the beginning of the film when the Zentraedi Regulds penetrate the SDF-1 and take the battle into the city. The way things stood still for just a moment, before gravity disappeared and this whole spread of outdoor restaurant tables and chairs went up in the air, then the cars, and then Minmay…

Hikaru catches Minmay using his Gerwalk’s hand.

This was the kind of stuff that stays with me throughout my life. I’ve seen DYRL at least 12 times in full. I’ve never watched an animated film as many times in my life as this one.

I’ll end with this third and last video, from the third season of LotGH. It’s special to us (the founders of WRL) in that we find ourselves singing along solemnly, saluting the monitor as the OP plays as if some kind of national anthem. It’s very silly of us, no doubt. However what I want to point out is the effect this show has on us. It has the power to inspire reverence.

No need for crying, let out your feelings, wide through the space, where time just endlessly spins, twinkling tears of night, darkness turns to light, Sailing so free, Sailing in peace, lay your heart down onto the sea of the stars.

 

And some of that reverence I give to Ishiguro Noboru. I never knew you, but I know your work and it made a difference to me. Paalam.

About ghostlightning

I entered the anime blogging sphere as a lurker around Spring 2008. We Remember Love is my first anime blog. Click here if this is your first time to visit WRL.
This entry was posted in how to remember love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Lay Your Heart Down Onto The Sea of The Stars, Noburo Ishiguro RIP (1938-2012) We Will Forever Remember Love

  1. Turambar says:

    Macross made me fall in love with anime, and LOGH ruined all other anime for me through sheer brilliance. The man’s works definitely has had one hell role in shaping my formative anime experiences.

  2. animekritik says:

    RIP.
    Lovely videos all 3 by the way.

  3. Shinmarizu says:

    I knew as soon as the news hit that you would hold tribute. I wish I were as articulate and thorough, but I’ll give it a shot:

    Thank you, Ishiguro Noburo. You will be missed, for you’ve made an indelible impression on countless hearts and minds, including mine. Your contributions to Macross, my most favourite anime series of all time, have not gone unnoticed.
    Rest in peace, good sir. *raises glass*

  4. megaroad1 says:

    RIP Ishiguro Sensei…You made Macross and LOGH happen and for that I will never forget you.

    His contributions to anime and sci-fi will be long remembered. On top of the unforgettable classic works you have already mentioned, he was also responsible for Megazone 23, a truly innovative work that inspired many a Hollywood film.

    Reading the lyrics of the 3rd OP of LOGH, you almost had me in tears with that vid Ghost.

  5. bonezai says:

    I remember reading his columns in Animerica about his love of anime & predictions of poetic demise and destruction of anime.
    This guy was the real deal. He ruled the anime movies with principles and great character. That is why he was able to communicate those into his movies. And they are so enduring after all these years.
    I hope his death will bring forth new life in the heats and minds of those whom he inspired in the anime industry.

  6. bonezai says:

    Artland

  7. Rusty says:

    Beautiful words and music, ghostlightning.
    I haven’t watched Macross or Space Battle Yamato but I recently completed LoGH and was captivated by it. It is sad to hear the series’ director pass away. RIP Ishiguro. Thanks for your majestic works.

  8. Matt Wells says:

    As far as his personal life goes, I know that he devoted a good twenty years of his life to animating LotGH. Did it with his own studio, even paying for it out of his own pocket. He saw a story that had to be told at all costs, and he did it in a way that reached the most people possible. That sort of thing takes a passion and drive rare even in a meduim as intensely personal as animation. How many people can say they worked on not one but two of “The Three Pillars” of Anime Sci-Fi?

  9. Juuso Uusimäki says:

    Maybe it’s okay for people over 50 to get set in
    their ways as creators, but I intend to fight it as much as possible. Or so I
    say, and yet no matter how much I speak of seeking a new methodology, I can’t
    leave the original work to people walking on the street. What I’m talking
    about is the influential work known as “Macross”[1]. In those days Yamaga
    (Hiroyuki), me, Sadamoto (Yoshiyuki), and Maeda (Mahiro) all began to get
    involved with anime because of our student part-time jobs. I could say that
    was how huge the talent of director Ishiguro (Noboru), who used that kind of
    unknown youngsters, was; the result of sensibilities drawn from deep within.
    Creators in those days had substance.

    - Hideaki Anno

    Ishiguro was a great man, one of the true old giants of anime industry and his passing is most regrettable and sad. Not only did he nurture the young talents on SDFM he also directed, he also directed nothing less than Legend of Galactic Heroes. If two all-time classic shows and incalculable influence on younger creators (such as Shoji Kawamori) wasn’t enough he played absolutely crucial role on original Space Battleship Yamato to the point I’ve seen some argue in may respects he was its real director.

    As far as I can tell his talent was only matched by niceness of his personality and all interviews of him I’ve seen make him come off as a polite gentleman.

    Rest in piece, you great man.

  10. Pterobat says:

    I’ve only seen his Macross works, but SDFM was special enough that it earns Ishiguro a special place in my heart. Godspeed.

Leave a Reply

