Laughter, RAGE, & Tears for the G0dd4mn3d AKB0048 Finale

[EveTaku] AKB0048 - 13 END (1280x720 x264-Hi10P AAC)[6467275A].mkv_snapshot_23.54_[2012.07.25_07.03.12]
[AKB0048 Episode 12]

This show surprised me a fair bit on its way to this end, and most of the time the surprises were good. This finale however is a mixed bag of awesomeness and awfulness with little in between.

I’m going to pass judgment decisively and perhaps harshly; let me know if you disagree.

[EveTaku] AKB0048 - 13 END (1280x720 x264-Hi10P AAC)[6467275A].mkv_snapshot_09.29_[2012.07.25_07.05.58]

AWESOME: Chieri Wins Over Nagisa

Yes, you heard me. She won. Nagisa got to sing with her on stage because she let her. Chieri dictated the victory conditions and won entirely on her terms. Of course the sequel will ruin this by picking Nagisa as center nova and the successor to Acchan, but that’s a ways away!

AWFUL: Nagisa no Chieri

This has got to be one of the worst songs I’ve ever had to sit through in an anime. Is this worse than an entire album of Ali Project remixes? I don’t know, but it’s gotta be close.

AWESOME: Motomiya Nagisa’s Dad

Fuck yeah, WHO’S YOUR DADDY NOW?! Just when I thought there’d be this cheesy meltdown, but clearly becoming a political prisoner only made this guy become a badass and not just a hardass. This is the kind of father teenage robot anime pilots need. I wasn’t ready. His words of challenge was filled with love and I couldn’t help but break down in tears. Come hang out with me and Flit Asuno and have some whiskey and cigars. You are a total bro.

[EveTaku] AKB0048 - 13 END (1280x720 x264-Hi10P AAC)[6467275A].mkv_snapshot_21.37_[2012.07.25_07.07.59]

AWFUL: The Takamina Succession Clusterfuck

Really? Takamina doesn’t get a VI successor? That’s how this wraps up? Kanata gets completely shafted? This was supposed to be one of the best things about this show – real conflict concerning the zero-sum game that is an idol career within AKB. I’d rather see Takamina V exit gracefully on the surface and become a super villain in the sequel. That would’ve been a great thing for Takamina VI to deal with:

Takamina VI: YOU DON’T HAVE TO DO THIS!

Takamina V: DON’T TELL ME WHAT TO DO KANATA! YOU DON’T KNOW ME!

Takamina VI: SHUT UP YOU CUNT, MY NAME IS TAKAMINA! I DON’T JUST KNOW YOU, I AM YOU!!! …rather, the very best of you, that you’ve now lost, but perhaps not totally, and not forever. I LOVE YOU LIKE I LOVE MYSELF!

Takamina V: DIE DOUCHEBITCH DIE!!!

AWESOME: AKB0048 shows AU Gundam how it’s done.

Just as Macross Frontier: The Wings of Farewell showed Mobile Suit Gundam 00 A Wakening of the Trailblazer how to communicate with an alien race with love and understanding (as if Macross 7 didn’t blaze that trail with power and soul), this anime shows up all these silly AU Gundams on how to do the pacifist thing: little girls, magic hearts, glowing critters, LISTEN TO OUR SONG.

AWFUL: The upcoming general elections

What’s the point of holding the elections if the Kirara anoint the Center Nova successor? Worse, it’s not as if Chieri would actually get chosen, it’s going to be Nagisa who destroys Yuuko as the new Acchan.

image

About ghostlightning

I entered the anime blogging sphere as a lurker around Spring 2008. We Remember Love is my first anime blog. Click here if this is your first time to visit WRL.
This entry was posted in AKB0048 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Laughter, RAGE, & Tears for the G0dd4mn3d AKB0048 Finale

  1. schneider says:

    What if the AGE staff is reading this blog and they decide to sneak in some Kio crossdressing? You have doomed us all!

    Nagisa’s Dad is AWESOME. Half-expected some kind of stupid emotional outburst, but the show delivers. DON’T LOOK BACK!

    I don’t like the Takamina resolution either, but it’s setting up for the next season, I guess. Still a lot of plotlines to be resolved, like Tsubasa’s hangup with Center Novae, Suzuko becoming Tsubasa Mk II, the truth about Kirara (upcoming post from me!), etc.

    Also, dat Sonata shower scene aaah.

  2. Xard says:

    AWFUL: The Takamina Succession Clusterfuck

    Well, that clearly isn’t over yet given BUT WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO KANATA NOW DUN DUN DUNNNN comment by the megane.

    I loved this episode anyway and I stand by my weg chart for the show in general:

    I’ve been thinking of translating couple of Kawamori interviews on AKB I found, they seem pretty interesting.

    • Xard says:

      oh and yeah Nagisa no Cherri is pretty meh but who cares, we got ED and OP performances which were more than worth it

      • Xard says:

        plus DOUBLE FUCKING MICSABER ACTION NUFF SAID

      • I had to sit through that shit, and it’s supposed to be the awesome moment of Chieri’s victoly

        • Xard says:

          Well yeah, but we both sat through like 17 (if not more, can’t remember) episodes of PLANET DANCE straight which was as bad and because I had to repeate the experience numerous times it was far more horrifying.

          In comparison this was a cake walk.

    • Go do the translations. I am always entertained by the crap his Eyebrowness says. I love and hate that guy forever.

      • Xard says:

        I will, I will… now I just need to dig up the big interview again because apparently I didn’t bookmark the archived thread where it was, oh god….

  3. Taka says:

    There’s a bunch of versions of Nagisa no Cherry in the AKB girls repertoire. I’m not entirely sure why the show dictated it to have such significance perhaps because it’s one of the few solo/small group songs. Sure the idol in the gold dress is always one of the more popular ones but that’s about as far as it extends. That being said my favorite version is the one with Mariko Shinoda as the soloist. This version…did not sound very good.

  4. AKB says:

    “AWFUL: The upcoming general elections”

    THIS!! what’s the point of an election when the result is already obvious. It would be cool if they make poll on the web a let the audience have a real election. Otherwise it’s pointless and retarded.

  5. bluemist says:

    Producer 1: “Oh crap I thought we weren’t extending this anime beyond 13 episodes, let’s have Takamina V stay for a while longer.”

    – Kirara is what potential idols attract.
    – Kirara is what AKB0048 idols become when they die (meaning cross over that light during their magnum opus performance). Proof: Acchan
    – Kirara can now multiply depending on how radiant the idol’s feelings are.
    – Kirara are freaking fickle and can pick successors and Center Novas randomly as they’d like.
    Conclusion: Kirara are a representation of idol fans.

    Bonus Conclusion: I f*cking don’t know what I’m saying about this show. Nagisa no Chieri, f*ck this song this is not what I signed up for in idol music quality.

    • I think the Kiraras are actually parts of the soul, note the Kiraras appearing out of the girls. Acchan and the others disappearing might just be that since they were the Center Nova, most of the radiance is from them and their souls keeps splitting into Kiraras until their souls are too “small” to maintain the radiance, which causes them to “burn” themselves out of existence.

    • Newsflash: Idol music is crap. This is just super mega crap.

      No, they are not. Kirara can’t be the idol fans. Orine’s hater is one example. The WOTA are the other example.

  6. benigmatica says:

    Well, I can’t wait for next year… and I expect Nagisa to win as the new Center Nova.

    I would be surprised and disappointed if she didn’t…

    • Lin says:

      They should let Nagisa be the next Acchan but make Chieri the next Center Nova. That way everyone wins.

      • But Chieri will be the successor of who exactly? Who are the centers of AKB48?

        • Lin says:

          The one who was almost on equal footing with Acchan when she was center is Yuuko. And Mayuyu seems to be the main candidate for new center now that the younger generations are taking the lead of the group. But in the anime Yuuko is a loser and Mayuyu is an irrelevant minor character lol

          I don’t know, maybe Chieri could become Yuuko the 10th since Yuuko the 9th sucks at being Yuuko. A worthy Yuuko successor should be able to see Acchan as an equal instead of looking up to her like some sort of god.

          That being said, I’m not sure becoming a successor is required to be recognized as Center Nova. As far as I can tell the girl who can glow the most gets the position.

          In any case, since Mayuyu (Chieri’s VA) is the center of the subgroup formed by the girls working in the anime, I hope Chieri will get the same attention in the series proper.

    • Can’t be helped. I don’t hate Nagisa, but seriously Chieri is better.

  7. Throughout the episode, I keep seeing things from other Kawamori anime. Pretty sure the anime he directed are all linked together.

    When Acchan linked the ship to Lancastar with the light, I was like “Was that Axis Shock?”
    When the scene where they were like “I CAN FEEL THE SONG AND FEELINGS” happens, I only had one question, Was Mikono in the audience?

    Yeah, Nagisa no Cherry sucks.

    I don’t think the argument Ghost wrote would happen, I think they would actually try to outsing each other, while firing missiles at each other.

  8. dliessmgg says:

    Throughout enjoying this show I never put off my cynical glasses, but this finale broke them. Congratulations, Kawamori.

  9. squaresphere says:

    Awww Minmay. Sheryl might be the Queen of Idols, but Minmay will always be the Empress (lulz at Apple on a flash drive)

  10. Chan says:

    I also didn’t care much for Nagisa’s Cherry, it was wasn’t as lively as Chieri’s.

    That said this show overall was pretty good, I wanted to hate, really I did, but I found myself liking it. Can’t wait for next season.

    Also LOL are Ranka and Minmei fighting over Sheryl? A new triangle has appeared?!!LOL

  11. I hate to tell you this but Chieri didn’t LET Nagisa sing..nor did she win over her–Nagisa lost her voice, and Chieri took over the song for her then during the concert Nagisa got her voice back once she saw that her family was supprting her and Chieri offered her back her position…

Leave a Reply

