Badass Battloids on a Budget: How I celebrated my debut at OH!

It really happened.

It really happened.

I got in Oi, Hayaku! Me! I submitted a shamelessly Macross-themed essay and they published it here. Reading my work in another blog felt real awkward, I didn’t see the comforting margins of We Remember Love, the font felt small, and my words felt like they belonged to another blogger; like some other Macross retard was writing for OH! But rest assured, that’s me.

I had known that I got in for a week now, but it wasn’t until I saw my post scheduled for publishing on WordPress that it dawned on me that my lucky streak is still hot. My goodness, in 6 weeks from zero to part of a hot team blog; I’m going to hoot a little, maybe a lot. In any case, I wanted to celebrate. PHOTOS INSIDE.

To start things off, my wife treated me to dinner. We went to our favorite Japanese restaurant Sugi, where we had sashimi (Uni, Sake, Maguro, Ika, and Hikari-Mono), tea, and onigiri. Afterward, I went to one of my frequented toy shops and bought every single freaking Battloid in the 25th Anniversary Macross Yamaguchi Revoltech series, all six of them.

  1. Series No. 034 VF-1J Super Valkyrie “TV Ver”. SUPER DIMENSION FORTRESS MACROSS
  2. Series No. 034 VF-1J Super Valkyrie “TV Ver”. “Max” SUPER DIMENSION FORTRESS MACROSS
  3. Series No. 036 VF-1S Strike Valkyrie “Movie Ver”. DO YOU REMEMBER LOVE?
  4. Series No. 038 VF-1A Super Valkyrie “Movie Ver”. DO YOU REMEMBER LOVE?
  5. Series No. 053 YF-19 BATTROID TYPE. MACROSS PLUS
  6. Series No. 054 YF-21 BATTROID TYPE. MACROSS PLUS
I know there will be more, but at this point I can say my collection's complete

I know there will be more (should!), but at this point I can say my collection is complete.

I ended up skipping a full episode of Xam’d (went straight to 16) with The Waifu (she’s on to me) because I started messing with the toys as we watched.

YF-19

YF-19

Isamu Dyson’s prototype bird in Macross Plus. It was inferior to its rival the YF-21 in every way in my opinion (and ugly too), but Isamu as a pilot is made of pure awesome that he was so much more fun to watch in this than anything in the whole franchise. He’s the pilot I place second only to Max in skills. The only pilot and aircraft to go toe-to-toe with the SDF-1. Eat THAT, Alto-kun!

YF-21

YF-21

In some ways I think this bird is superior to anything except the VF-27s. Guld Bowman piloted this using Robotech’s ‘thinking cap’ technology (LOL), setting the precedent for speed-of-thought maneuverability used to devastating effect by Brera Sterne in his VF-27 (Macross Frontier). This is where Macross Plus went Evangelion on us (though they came out almost exactly the same time) by relying on pilot x mecha synchronicity to maintain/improve combat effectiveness.

VF-1J

VF-1J

Without the trimmings, this is the bird that punctuated the OP of the Macross arc of the ROBOTECH saga. For most people, this is how they’ll remember love. This bird has 2 distinguished pilots, who customized theirs in striking colors. One of them is…

VF-1J "Max"

VF-1J"Max"

Let’s say you’re a Zentraedi mook in a standard issue Regult in space, making a raid on the SDF-1 Macross along with hundreds of other such mooks in their Regults. You see this blue bird streaking out of the Macross. If you guessed that you’re good as dead, you probably guessed right. Maximilian Jenius is the definitive Ace Pilot in mecha anime (sorry Char, at least you keep your depth and sweeping scope). Macross has invested a lot in building his legend, and it certainly didn’t fail to entertain.

VF-1A

VF-1A

Hikaru’s first valkyrie in the Macross movie Do You Remember Love? is a VF-1A variant paint scheme with his token red colors from the television series. Later, Hikaru will utilize a VF-1S and have it painted in red as well. It’s one of the simplest of the variable fighters, but I can look at it all day. What a beauty.

VF-1S

VF-1S

Just looking at this photo made me go here just to listen and remember love. Roy’s bird, then Hikaru’s. Who’ll forget that salute? I was so happy when Alto pulled the salute for Sheryl, who returned it in the final of Macross Frontier. Thanks for the memories Skull One.

My Revoltech Battloids

My Revoltech Battloids

Yamato VF models are hugely expensive. One would cost as much as all of these figures. Revoltech figures, while small (less than 100mm) and do not transform to Gerwalk and Valkyrie modes, make up for it by being very very posable. They are action figures primarily. I started putting the figs together (very minor assembly, but still some work given I did all 6 at the same time) after watching episode 09 of Gundam 00 season 2. The episode really delivered on the robot battles front. I was very very happy and couldn’t wait to mess with the toys so I messed up our Xam’d episode sequence.

25th-anniversary-macross

Do you celebrate otaku milestones? (you finish a beloved series, your favorite character wins, your ship sails to the sunset, your goodies arrive in the mailbox, etc.) How? Small or epic I want to know!

About ghostlightning

I entered the anime blogging sphere as a lurker around Spring 2008. We Remember Love is my first anime blog. Click here if this is your first time to visit WRL.
This entry was posted in fanboy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Badass Battloids on a Budget: How I celebrated my debut at OH!

  1. ……FUCK I HAVE TO PREPARE SOMETHING AWESOME IN THE NEXT 2 DAYS FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF

  2. Just to clarify, in 2 days I will finally get my new waifu in the mail <333333

  3. ghostlightning says:

    Who’s your waifu? ^_^

  4. choujin1 says:

    I love Revoltech figures! And this post makes me want to buy more of them. (I only have Megatron so far.) I was surprised by how small they are, too. The pictures make them seem so much larger. I wonder if there will ever be a Beast King Golion Revoltech figure…

  5. ghostlightning says:

    @ choujin1

    I have Starscream Xp

    I have Eva Unit-01, and Gurren Lagann (awesome). They’re just under 4″ tall (under 100mm).

  6. choujin1 says:

    @ghostlightning
    Someday, I’d like to get Optimus (Convoy). I pre-ordered one of the Gurren Lagann figures. I think it’s the one with all the glowy green stuff around his body. I also have an Eva unit on order at the local comic shop, too.

  7. ghostlightning says:

    @ choujin1

    You ordered the Tenggen Toppa Gurren Lagann itself. You will soon own the biggest fucking mecha in anime (in miniature form).

    @ schneider

    I feel good that somehow I finally own quality Macross toys. It’s been a long time coming, and though I did get Minmei figs and an awesome Basara 2 weeks ago, I have mecha now, and I must say it’s a huge difference.

  8. Congrats on getting the post published – I’ll give it a read when I can (overtime’s a pain but hey, it’s coming up to Christmas).

    Those figures are fantastic…and your wife is very understanding! ^_^

  9. Finally. No meta shit. :p

  10. ghostlightning says:

    @ concretebadger

    No worries. We’re coming up with all sorts of excitement! When we do one of the Macross-related posts I’d be delighted if you’d participate. We’re building the post template now so it’ll be easy for all mecha fans to jump in.

    @ The Sojourner

    Lelangir, lolikit, and myself are played out re the meta stuff so we won’t be doing much of that here for now. In the mean time more love for robots!

  11. otou-san says:

    woot those are some fine robots. Do they make a Basara version?

  12. ghostlightning says:

    @ otou-san

    This is all for now, save for a regult that I haven’t bought yet. I’m sure the next wave would include Frontier mecha, but no news re Basara’s ride. It’d be awesome though… they should include the guita-hero controls, the same way they included the core drill with the gurren lagann toy.

  13. Pingback: THAT Animeblog - MDR TB: self-fulfilling prophecy

Leave a Reply

