LISTEN TO MY SONG! Vol. 1: Do You Remember My Charging Heart of Love

Here at We Remember Love yours truly, the fanboy extrordinaire ghostlightning am always attempting to find ways to express my love for deculture. For the uninitiated, that means Macross! In my recent posts I may have given an impression that I’ve changed my colors and declared for the angst-ridden participants of mechanized warfare, or for those lovable boring Germans in space. Rest assured, my love for the Macross franchise is undying. It was never built on the notion that Macross is the best anime ever anyway, so my devotion to it is never threatened by external forces of awesomeness.

In this post I share two performances of songs in the Macross universe. I’m even less of a music critic than I am an anime critic, so I warn you not to expect fair evaluations of the performances here. These videos are my old treasures. Do enjoy them!

Here is the very young Iijima Mari, who was cast as Minmei similar to Minme’s discovery as a star. No, she didn’t win a beauty contest, but her playing the lead and singing in the soundtrack was repeated in the case of Nakajima Megumi in her turn as Ranka 25 years later in the franchise. Similarly, Sakamoto Maaya also started this way playing Hitomi in the Vision of Escaflowne and singing some truly memorable songs.

Ai Oboete Imasu Ka

Here she is singing the same track with her band (longer, almost full version):

Here’s Fukuyama Yoshiyuki performing Totsugeki Love Heart, my favorite song by the Macross 7 band Fire Bomber. Ozma Lee in Macross Frontier was a huge Fire Bomber fan, and named specific squad tactics of the Skull Team after Fire Bomber tunes. In the finale, their attack on Battle Galaxy required the use of the Totsugeki Love Heart attack!

Did these make you remember love? I’ll be posting more every week, just to make sure you do.

About ghostlightning

I entered the anime blogging sphere as a lurker around Spring 2008. We Remember Love is my first anime blog. Click here if this is your first time to visit WRL.
This entry was posted in listen to my song and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to LISTEN TO MY SONG! Vol. 1: Do You Remember My Charging Heart of Love

  1. Ryan A says:

    Yes Yes Yes ^__^

  2. maakusutipen says:

    Ohhh Macross love… do want… heheheh… too bad youtube is blocked in the office… some other time and PC I guess. hehehe

  3. ghostlightning says:

    @ Ryan A

    YESSSS. I’ll put up stuff every week. Stay tuned.

    @ maakuutipen

    Ai Oboete Imasu Ka is reprised several times in Macross Frontier, both by Ranka in the final 2 eps. It’s an awesome moment, especially for a lifelong fanboy like me.

  4. maakusutipen says:

    Oh this is off topic… but I have pulled in another gal to watch Macross… she is a dorama watcher but because I was fanboying at my blog she tried Macross and she is also liking it…
    Also…

    You know of the nico nico vids for these if there are ones? Surprisingly enough, Nico Nico douga is not blocked in the office and this is a Japanese office afterall. All regular employees can speak and understand high level Japanese. So it does not make sense to have youtube blocked and Nico Nico douga is not. Anyways. I liked the comments in the My boyfriend is a pilot Bobby version. The Japanese commenters are hilarous. You may want to look at them if you fancy.

  5. ghostlightning says:

    @ maakusutipen

    I can’t read moon runes so I can’t navigate Nico Nico. T_T Send the link anyway if you can!

    Good job sharing Macross to your friend. Moar fans of the show are always welcome.

  6. gloval says:

    @ghostlightning

    I think that Bobby version of “My Boyfriend is a Pilot” is also available in YouTube. You may try lurking the Animesuki forums for a link. But of course watching it in NicoNico is a different experience. (I don’t understand the comments too but once you see a stream of “wwwwww~” you know you’ve seen a lollercoaster.)

    @maakusutipen

    If your friend watches dorama, she can surely appreciate Macross. Welcome to Macross. Hope you’d explore the older shows for great deculture!

  7. maakusutipen says:

    this is the link…

    http://www.nicovideo.jp/watch/sm5614003

    but in order to view that you need to register though. But I know jpmeyer knows of another way that you do not need to register though.

    Yes as what gloval said when you get a stream of wwwww thats LOL for them. BUt i like how they comment and how the comments pass by.

  8. Sakura says:

    Remember love? I never forgot it 🙂

  9. Pingback: LISTEN TO MY SONG! Vol 2: Battle of the Dancing Planets « We Remember Love

  10. Pingback: LISTEN TO MY SONG VOL. 9: A Duet for my CHARGING HEART OF LOVE « We Remember Love

Leave a Reply

