Xam’d Finale: Not Perfect, I Loved it, and How it Could’ve Been Much Worse

It took me a longer time to finish Xam’d, but I’m glad I watched it in batches. When I was watching it at a one episode a week pace it was too easy for me to lose touch with the details, particularly the world-building elements. This got in the way of appreciating the emotional triumph that the characters and dialogue in the show gave me. In terms of thoughts on the finale, I pretty much agree with Lbrevis in her post with regards to it being emotionally satisfying; while I look to Dotdash for other details (pretty good stuff he has over at Plot Shield blog).

I’ve nothing really more to add, except that there’s much of it to love. And, I thought of how it could have gone so wrong.

xamd-hiruken-emperor-p1xamd-emperor-akiyuki-name-p2tang-orange-p3end-of-evangelion-ikari-shinji-soryu-asuka-langley-beach-choke-p4

The ending may have been a bit too happy; but, well, it made me happy enough. If you think the ending could’ve been better, what would you change?

About ghostlightning

I entered the anime blogging sphere as a lurker around Spring 2008. We Remember Love is my first anime blog. Click here if this is your first time to visit WRL.
This entry was posted in analysis, for the lulz and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Xam’d Finale: Not Perfect, I Loved it, and How it Could’ve Been Much Worse

  1. I overall loved the show but felt the ending was sub par. It felt anticlimactic. Like boom heres my name to fill your void. OK. Not really much struggle. But I do always love an ending where they they show the after effects a couple years down the road.

  2. ghostlightning says:

    @ lelangir

    Yeah you said it.

    @ ilikewhiterice

    The naming drama was quite good, imo. It’s the too-neat and too happy resolution that kind of bugs me, but not too much.

    @ schneider

    The Gundam franchise is a banquet of dumbass names:

    Laura Rolla
    Frau Bow
    Bring Stabity
    Hilling Care
    Anew Returner
    FUCKING RIBBONS ALLMARK
    Hallelujah Haptism

    I’m sure there’s more!

  3. otou-san says:

    You gundam kids and your funny names. That said, I’m naming my kid Lockon Stability.

    As for happy endings, I have come to expect that out of Bones’s orginals, especially their mecha series. But what satisfies me is, even in RahXephon’s neat little package, it’s never quite a simple “happy ending.” It feels more like something had to trade or balance, and it makes the good part much more rewarding.

  4. ghostlightning says:

    @ Omisyth

    What needs clarification XP? Gundam has always had ridiculous names that can make deities wish the world into Tang.

    @ otou-san

    Lockon Stability will grow up wangsty and pissed at life and form a team blog with Mechafetish’s kid, Return Returnal

  5. Pingback: The Party of Awkward Hats is Diminished: I was drunk, but many interesting guests are leaving and it’s a sobering thought. « We Remember Love

  6. alpistons14 says:

    So is Akiyuki alive or dead in the end? and is there going to be a second season?

  7. James says:

    ya really is akiyuki alive or what……i mean wtf im so confused on how hes still alive explain please@

  8. ghostlightning says:

    The way I understand it he is still alive. The explanation all has to do with how the ‘magic’ in the narrative works. The combination of the Hiruko, his being a Xam’d, and his personal will allow the other characters to hope that he is still alive.

    While the narrative itself would not confirm this, the show itself is leaning towards ending in a high note so I think there’s merit in an optimistic appreciation of the ending.

  9. James says:

    well i thought the ending really just sucked……almost worse than the inuyasha(manga) ending. I mean just so confussing….

    • ghostlightning says:

      I sympathize with your confusion, though I think more than anything the finale was an emotional triumph though not a narrative one.

      • James says:

        just wish they would have confirmed weather he died or not….basically he completly turned into stone in the end so wtf they should do a movie of some sort or something.

Leave a Reply

