LISTEN TO MY SONG VOL. 6: Angel Paints with Voices

I didn’t follow a linear path, but I’ve completed The Super Dimensional Journey of Love Remembered, meaning I’ve seen every single episode in the Macross franchise canon. Since Macross Frontier and Macross 7 have spectacular music, I expected that my favorite song in the franchise would change. But no, it didn’t.

This is still my favorite song in the franchise. I’ve posted a really cute performance of this song, but what can be seen below really blows my mind.

I find it spectacular how the young Iijima Mari, around 17 at this performance (right around Minmei’s age when she sang this, 1, 2, 3, 4!) totally owned the performance. Perhaps this has to do with the fact that she wrote the song herself, but whatever. She really killed it here.

Sayonara Minmei! Sayonara Megaroad-01! I’ll always remember love!

I couldn’t find her live piano performance of Voices in the OTACON in the mid-90s, but I did find this:

This is the first music of Kanno Yoko that I fell in love with. I didn’t take not of her name at first. It wasn’t until I heard the music from Vision of Escaflowne that I realized she was something special.

VOL. 5

About ghostlightning

I entered the anime blogging sphere as a lurker around Spring 2008. We Remember Love is my first anime blog. Click here if this is your first time to visit WRL.
This entry was posted in listen to my song and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to LISTEN TO MY SONG VOL. 6: Angel Paints with Voices

  1. Emperor J says:

    I’d agree with the selection for favorite song in the franchise, despite the fact I criminally have not seen Frontier. Unfortunately, I think the live version leaves a lot to be desired.

    • ghostlightning says:

      I wonder what do you find that’s lacking in the live version. I’m genuinely thrilled by it and find this particular clip the gem of my stash.

      And yes, do watch Macross Frontier.

    • ghostlightning says:

      Perhaps, perhaps. But let me share with you what did work for me in that video.

      Iijima here completely ‘owns’ the performance. Her vocals will never be her strong point, but the character she brings to the performance is remarkable. She’s working with a relatively large stage and she runs around and about to make full use of it.

      What energy! Oh, to be a teenager.

      The little dances she does fit very well with the phrases of the song, punctuating the moments. It seems so spontaneous rather than choreographed.

      With this performance she effectively distances herself with Minmei the character. How? Because Minmei will never be so ‘animated.’ It’s quite difficult and expensive IMO to animate dances and performances, and her kinetic dynamism here makes sure that it’s never going to be worth the expense. (Not that I wouldn’t like to see them try to make such a kinetic performance).

      Iijima never really was able to make it outside Japan, and her legacy is still her performance as Minmei, but here she showed her abilities well even though I end up trying to imagine Minmei up there more than anyone.

  2. vendredi says:

    “Voices” is definitely the most haunting piece of Macross music I’ve listened to. Actually, I think that goes for most of the Macross Plus soundtrack, which I still feel is the strongest and overall most accessible Macross show.

    My introduction to Kanno’s work was actually via Wolf’s Rain; what always amazes me is just the spread of genres she can successfully take on and yet at the same time remaining very within the theme of a particular show.

  3. ghostlightning says:

    Did you mean to say that the Macross Plus soundtrack is the strongest and most accessible? or the show?

    I don’t think either of which is more accessible than the original (controlling for context wherein it was released) or even Macross Frontier – for the respective soundtracks as well.

    But no doubt, I love the show. I’ve written a starship full of words about it in a very recent post.

  4. Martin says:

    That rendition of Voices makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand on end! I remember having to go to great trouble to import the first Plus OST but jeez…it was worth it. I’m still undecided as to whether the standard or piano version is better but in the instrumental version the melody ‘speaks’ for itself – the lack of lyrics certainly doesn’t stop it being utterly stunning.

    I’m with vendredi on Kanno’s versatility…orchestral, electronic, blues, jazz, rock, you name it. Even so, Voices is still my favourite of hers.

  5. vendredi says:

    Sorry if I wasn’t clear there – I’d consider Macross Plus – the show – to be the most accessible in the sense that it would probably be the show I’d recommend for newcomers to the franchise.
    While the other series certainly have their merits, and it’s always debatable which is the best, I think an OAV series like Plus has the right combination of short length, animation quality, and strong thematic focus.

  6. ghostlightning says:

    @ Martin

    Kanno’s my favorite composer, my love for her illogically exceeds my love for Beethoven, Mozart, Brahms and Rachmaninoff. I remember listening to ‘Gotta Knock a Little Harder’ for the first time and I ended up listening to the Cowboy Bebop OSTs every day for the next 3 years.

    Man I even used ‘Flying Dragon’ as my personal theme in my own wedding.

    I’m really miffed that I can’t find my own copy of the live piano performance. That was what I intended to post here.

    @ Vendredi

    I think an OAV series like Plus has the right combination of short length, animation quality, and strong thematic focus.

    If you put it like that it makes a lot of sense. However, I feel that Macross Plus is so very un-Macross, that it does many things so differently (subversively) that it’s not so representative of the franchise.

    Not that I think badly of it for doing so! Rather I want to keep it as a counterpoint to the silliness of Macross in general rather than use it as a ‘gateway’ show.

  7. gloval says:

    Mari Ijima was just wow in there.

    I agree with you on why Plus doesn’t seem to be a “gateway” to Macross. Besides, compared to the other shows, it’s rather stand-alone or the most isolated from the rest of the franchise.

  8. Pingback: LISTEN TO MY SONG! VOL. 7: DYNAMITE EXPLOSION « We Remember Love

  9. Pingback: Oh Macross, It’s Just a Popular Song, of Course it Was a Love Song: Do You Remember Love? « We Remember Love

Leave a Reply

