Frontier of Hot-Bloodedness: It ISN’T Manly (DUN DUN DUN)

Anime and Manga have been for me, a wealth of gratuitous displays of manliness. Before I get sucked into gender politics discussion, I disclose that I am male and revel in gratuitous displays of manliness for whatever reason you probably imagine, but above all because it is fun. So yes, anime and manga have indulged me with hot-blooded manliness in all kinds of activities, beyond just fighting and sports:

…among others. It would seem that the well of hot-blood will not run dry. Even so, one of the more satisfying experiences of hot-blooded entertainment showed me that the boiling blood of awesome beats through the heart of a WOMAN!

And no, I don’t mean to talk about woman fighters like Kushana, Balsa, or Nausicaa; nor mecha anime standouts like Allenby Beardsley, Cornelia li Britannia, or Renais Kerdif-Shishio. Fighting is already an established realm for hot-blooded women. Action anime allows noncombatant women to display hot-bloodedness.

I’m talking about Mogami Kyoko of Skip Beat! who is hell bent on destroying the man who spurned her by becoming a bigger, better, and more popular POP IDOL!

skip beat mogami kyoko friedrich nietzsche

Wait, why is the often cast as a misogynist Friedrich Nietzsche framed right beside our hot-blooded protagonist? I ask your indulgence for a rather roundabout way of explaining. kimaguresan of his road to nowhere blog participates in a community event that lets fellow anime bloggers read each other’s early material. Here he does a good job of reading Revenge at the core of love: Skip Beat Impressions; a blog post I wrote back in October 24, 2008.

When I wrote that post, I had only seen the first episode. I have since watched the whole show with my wife, and have attempted to read the manga (I’ve put it on hold for some time). Whatever my expectations of how shojo worked was turned on its head. Sure familiar elements such as sparkles, the illustration style, and the pretty boys are all there. But otherwise it reads almost like a tournament style shonen story. Probably closest to Bakuman among the manga I’ve read (due to the non-fighting based talent competition nature of the narrative).

The rivalry in Skip Beat however, are far more intense as they can sometimes be predicated on the destruction of the other – and yet even made more intense by the love melodrama between the participants. The source of the power, the comedic highs (and quite high too), and the entertainment as a whole in Skip Beat comes from Kyoko dealing with adversity by looking inward and summoning her reserves of ability by indulging BURNING RIGHTEOUS RAGE.

If you need to slake your thirst for hot blood, give Skip Beat a look.

Further Reading

My own participation in the community event: Anime in a Day by 21stcenturydigitalboy (05/29/2010)
Revenge at the core of love: Skip Beat Impressions [->]
Slave morality in Nietzsche’s discourse re-values the values of the masters. If Kyouko went the slave route she could’ve dismissed Shou and everything he’s about, particularly the pursuit of (superficial) celebrity as beneath her. This value of his would make him less of a person in her eyes. Instead she acknowledged the actual jerkassery of using and mistreating her, and not his goals as the reprehensible acts.

About ghostlightning

I entered the anime blogging sphere as a lurker around Spring 2008. We Remember Love is my first anime blog. Click here if this is your first time to visit WRL.
This entry was posted in comparative, fanboy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Frontier of Hot-Bloodedness: It ISN’T Manly (DUN DUN DUN)

  1. I have to agree with your choice. If ever there is an example of an atypical example of what is typically descibed as GAR, it’s Kyoko. Honestly, her rage is so intense it scares me a bit. I really should finish that anime.

  2. Pingback: Kimaguresan's road to nowhere » zzeroparticle reads my Magikano post from 2006

  3. Taka says:

    Hell yeah Skip Beat. I always called it Shounen Shoujo when I was watching it while it aired. Hot Blooded indeed.

    Also, I would recommend against using the words rabu-rabu should an event like this come up again. 😛

  4. Etrangere says:

    You should read Tokyo Crazy Paradise too, by the same writer as Skip Beat. It’s even more full of hot bloodedness. 🙂

  5. drmchsr0 says:

    And then there’s THE LEGEND OF KOIZUMI, which takes mahjong, BURNING MANLY SPIRIT, and world politics to extremes.

    But I agree. You can find BURNING MANLY SPIRIT in women, but then again I’m sorely limited to super robots and the only probable candidate I could cough up comes from Dai-Guard.

    • You can make an argument for Tanabe Ai in Planetes, but hot-bloodedness isn’t her defining characteristic (or even one of them). It only means you need to branch out more.

  6. I watched the first ep of Skip Beat, and I don’t even know what the hell you were on about in that post lol.

  7. Pingback: Index of all the Aniblog Readings | Zzeroparticle's Updates

  8. Anonymous says:

    You should’ve recorded your own reading, even just for comparison’s sake lolol

  9. Sakura says:

    You really should keep reading. I’m enjoying the hell out of the latest chapters. Kyoko’s not only amazing when in Gar mode, but I also enjoy her utter cluelessness when around Ren.

    Because when she’s not focused on destroying that asshat Shou, she’s dealing with Ren and she just doesn’t know what to do when around him.

    Current badass Ren and her reaction to him is pure WIN!

  10. Pingback: The Best Anime Experiences Shared with the Best Person to Share Them With | We Remember Love

  11. Pingback: zzeroparticle reads my Magikano post from 2006 | kimaguresan's road to nowhere

Leave a Reply

