Yes My SWWEEET, Yes My Sweetest! One of the Most Disturbing Love Triangles You’ll Ever Come Accross

SWWEEET_V1_036-37

Love triangle stories are my kryptonite, especially if they are central to the entire narrative. A story may have love triangles, like say, the manga Nana, but these multiple love triangles in its narrative aren’t what make the story what it is. Some of the earliest stories I consumed had important love triangles: Super Dimension Fortress Macross, and the Dragonlance Chronicles have lead characters torn between love interests. These kinds of stories are what really get to me.

SWWEEET, a manga by Aoyama Kei is a very different kind of love triangle. I haven’t much experience with seinen love triangle stories, though I can appreciate those within Honey and Clover (not exactly seinen), and in the Ghibli production Ocean Waves/I Can Hear the Sea. Again, the love triangle elements in these works don’t dominate the narrative but in SWWEEET, it is undeniable, and disturbingly so.

SWWEEET_V1_012-13

Hayashi Susumu, his twin brother Tsutomu, and Toyama Sakura spent a somewhat idyllic childhood together. Susumu had been attracted to Sakura, but Sakura preferred the stronger and more confident Tsutomu. When they were ten years old, Tsutomu mysteriously disappeared. The narrative begins in middle school, where Sakura is tormented by bullies.

Susumu wanted more than anything to protect her, almost that he almost didn’t notice how strange he was being: talking to Tsutomu through a looking glass. He musters enough courage to intervene just as Sakura was seriously getting beat up. However, Susumu isn’t very strong, so the gang of girls easily overpower him.

The make Sakura have sex with him on the school rooftop.

I ask myself, this is rape right? I’m not sure but I’m inclined to think that way. Later on Sakura finds out that Susumu has a link to Tsutomu and can communicate with him. She has sex with him as if he were Tsutomu. All of this happens pretty much in the first volume of the manga.

Rather disturbing stuff. You have a love triangle between a girl and twins, one of them possibly dead. She fornicates with one to simulate being with the other. Susumu, already lacking in confidence, suffers this indignity because he’s convinced that he loves Sakura so thoroughly that he only wishes her happiness. Tsutomu through the looking glass and mocks him.

I can’t tell if Tsutomu is into Sakura the same way she’s into him.

SWWEEET_V1_038-39

How can this story go forward? How can this ever end well? I’m committed to find out because the story is told rather well, and the manga is illustrated rather handsomely. There are laughs to be had, amidst the creepy and unnerving moments.

The thing about love triangles is that they point towards winners and losers. One of the guys will get the girl and the loser goes away. Here in the disturbingly titled SWWEEET, I don’t think anyone can come away winners.

About ghostlightning

I entered the anime blogging sphere as a lurker around Spring 2008. We Remember Love is my first anime blog. Click here if this is your first time to visit WRL.
This entry was posted in analysis, first impressions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Yes My SWWEEET, Yes My Sweetest! One of the Most Disturbing Love Triangles You’ll Ever Come Accross

  1. Chronolynx says:

    I’ll have to check this out.

    • I don’t think it will have broad appeal, making it a risky pickup. However it isn’t very long at all so it’s something worth finishing even if only to challenge the parameters of your tastes.

  2. Doriinatrix says:

    …that sounds awesome (in a horrifying way). Definitely will have to check this out.

  3. miden says:

    Wow, sounds like something serious but sweet too! I’m definitely checking this out

    • There is indeed something sweet — both in terms of sentiment, and in terms of some characters’ behavior, but for the most part there’s either mystery/distrust, or just disturbing stuff.

      Interesting indeed.

  4. Emperor J says:

    I haven’t read this, so I won’t comment on the immediate subject. I think a lot of love triangle stories serve as mere projections for the audience. When the resolution comes, there’s a winner and loser like you say, but it is inevitably a clean break for the loser. Something like School Days, while slightly over the top in its resolution is a break from convention, it gets an ending which probably captures the emotion (not actions!) of the loser more accurately than most love triangle stories.

    • I think clean breaks work best in any case. I’ve been part of a particularly catastrophic love triangle in my late adolescence that in ways I allowed to be life-defining experiences.

      I was hung up about it for five years and it wrecked almost all other aspects of my life. It was neither a mature nor a healthy way of being. I could have made a clean break for it, but instead I indulged myself in the narrative of heartbreak even when the other parties (both closest of friends) would rather break cleanly.

      We’re civil now, over 13 years later; and my best friend became the best man at my wedding and is a godfather to my daughter. However, for a time I lost it all and I wouldn’t break cleanly, despite being the loser.

  5. Chronolynx says:

    Having read the first volume, it certainly is an interesting take on the love triangle. To be honest, I don’t have a good track record with love triangle stories; there’s almost always at least one person who acts like a complete moron. If the people would just communicate, there wouldn’t even be a triangle. But I can see the appeal for a well executed one.

    • If the people would just communicate, there wouldn’t even be a triangle.

      No. This is flat out wrong. This is especially true for triangles wherein the rivals aren’t friends. Communication means nothing if you will contest the claim anyway, unless the onus is on the one caught in the middle who could be cheating on both.

      In my case (when I was younger and triangular), I knew what I was doing (best friends were involved) and I went for it anyway. High risk, unknown reward, BAD END.

  6. Shance says:

    I just read volume 1. I’m currently interested on how the author tries to give consideration all the factors that concern childhood love. All that selfishness and stubbornness for Tsutomu make Sakura’s adult facade seem awkward, if not outright disturbing. Susumu, on the other hand, spawns a false ghost of his twin brother in a desperate attempt to mend the broken childhood relationship, with the hopes of getting Sakura’s heart in the process.

    I look forward to this being as equally epic as Fap Note (you guys know it as Onani Master Kurosawa), if not as equally optimistic on the latter parts. Thanks for the manga recommendation, gl!

    • It’s not as affecting to me as Onani Master Kurosawa, but it’s making me think harder, if that counts for something. Many of my assumptions at the beginning I’ve had to abandon as the reveals start arriving.

      These kids are damaged goods, to say the least.

  7. Crusader says:

    An unorthodox recommendation to say the least, not sure if I ought to start looking given the subject matter. Still it must be rather demeaning to not only lose a fight but to lose a fight that badly given the opposition and the consequences. What a feeling it must be to find a love triangle relate-able I spent my formative years despising my generation over one fateful day that all but destroyed any empathy or desire to understand my age group. Nevertheless it is good to make a clean break but sometimes it is hard to let go glad you were able to, I never have and I am not sure if I want to.

    • I get you man, it never really leaves you. I both dislike this, and am thankful for this. It’s like that thing I did, I involved myself in gives my adolescence the meaning I have of it. Mistakes of youth? Sure.

      I certainly never forgot, though I have forgiven even though I doubt if I ever was.

  8. adaywithoutme says:

    Well, certainly sounds like a new twist on an old formula. And it actually sounds like the manga-ka is interested in going beyond simply being lurid – there’s actually some depth there as opposed to just trying to be shocking to gain some readership. Even given the disturbing aspect to the subject matter, its refreshing to see that some make serious attempts to bring some newness to such a favored trope.

    • Oh yes. Later on it feels like the mangaka, or at least the narrative itself wears its heart on its sleeve which to me, after everything that’s happened, is disturbing in another way.

      Honestly I’ve never come across anything like it, and I’ve Itsubun to thank for the recommendation.

  9. Martin says:

    You’ve piqued my interest there. I can imagine it’ll be uncomfortable reading at points – believe it or not, the emotional clout will probably test my resolve to keep reading a lot more than the obvious sex and violence that accompany such stories.

    As in, the difficulty I have with love triangles is that some poor sod winds up being left out while he/she has to witness the “And here’s what you could’ve won!” In this case I expect the writer has turned the formula on its head, judging by what you’ve read so far.

    *sigh* yet another fascinating piece added to the ‘to read’ list…

    • As in, the difficulty I have with love triangles is that some poor sod winds up being left out while he/she has to witness the “And here’s what you could’ve won!”

      The story of my extended adolescence/young adulthood.

      It’s not very long, I think you can easily make time for this.

  10. glothelegend says:

    This manga looks too crazy in insane to ignore…

  11. sadakups says:

    ghosty, you did it again.

    You made me read another title that kept me reading during office hours and I can’t get it out of my head.

  12. Jack says:

    “The make Sakura have sex with him on the school rooftop.”

    Huh? What does this part mean?

  13. Pingback: What Shouldn’t Work But Instead Got Amazing: Honeymoon Salad (Manga) | We Remember Love

Leave a Reply

