Sheryl–Kiss in The Galaxy and The Sixth Stage of Grief

Sheryl Nome kimono macross frontier

I will first enumerate the stages of grief (Kübler-Ross model), care of Wikipedia. The stages, popularly known by the acronym DABDA, include:

  1. Denial — “I feel fine.”; “This can’t be happening, not to me.”
    Denial is usually only a temporary defense for the individual. This feeling is generally replaced with heightened awareness of possessions and individuals that will be left behind after death.
  2. Anger — “Why me? It’s not fair!”; “How can this happen to me?”; ‘”Who is to blame?”
    Once in the second stage, the individual recognizes that denial cannot continue. Because of anger, the person is very difficult to care for due to misplaced feelings of rage and envy.
  3. Bargaining — “I’ll do anything for a few more years.”; “I will give my life savings if…”
    The third stage involves the hope that the individual can somehow postpone or delay death. Usually, the negotiation for an extended life is made with a higher power in exchange for a reformed lifestyle. Psychologically, the individual is saying, “I understand I will die, but if I could just do something to buy more time…”
  4. Depression — “I’m so sad, why bother with anything?”; “I’m going to die… What’s the point?”; “I miss my loved one, why go on?”
    During the fourth stage, the dying person begins to understand the certainty of death. Because of this, the individual may become silent, refuse visitors and spend much of the time crying and grieving. This process allows the dying person to disconnect from things of love and affection. It is not recommended to attempt to cheer up an individual who is in this stage. It is an important time for grieving that must be processed.
  5. Acceptance — “It’s going to be okay.”; “I can’t fight it, I may as well prepare for it.”
    In this last stage, the individual begins to come to terms with her/his mortality or that of a loved one.

Why? It’s because I have to accept that my ideas of continuity and canon simply do not hold in the Macross franchise. I went from stages 1 through 4 in my post when I discussed how every Macross show, film, manga, or book, is an ‘official’ in-universe TV show, film, manga, or book, the way we accept Macross: Do You Remember Love? to be. There is no singular, official, canon version of the story involving any of the characters in the wars they were part of. Macross The First, by Mikimoto Haruhiko effectively changes the meet cute moments between Hikaru and Minmay, and Minmay is fanserviced to the high heavens having 2 costume changes during the first Zentraedi attack. It’s a rather silly way to accept all this grievous acts against my sensibilities of canon and continuity, but that’s Minmay for you.

Mind you, I’m not complaining about the changes, only that they’re not the real story. They’re as true as the Christopher Nolan films are to the Batman narrative as a whole. So this manga, Sheryl—Kiss of the Galaxy comes up with a story involving the characters and events depicted in the Macross Frontier sub-franchise, but from the orientation of Sheryl . The ‘changes’ are, well, LOL

 

image

Sheryl debuts her single Pink Monsoon on a Music Station-esque TV show. She originally was slated to wear a lolita-type costume, but a rival lolita-type idol ripped it apart. Sheryl came up with this costume THREADING TOGETHER ALL THOSE SCRAPS, in something like LESS THAN 5 MINUTES or something. Baby Pink Monsoon!

 

That song took some time to grow on me, but soon became part of my regular Macross playlist. The second change that had me falling off my bed:

 

image

Alto BRIGHTSLAPS Sheryl, within hours of just meeting her. Sure, she was pulling a Minmay, but still. Of course, this makes her fall in love with him harder. ROFLMAO. Next: RANKA HAS POWERS OVER ANIMALS AND TREES!

image

I wish I can make this shit up. Kawamori is included as a main collaborator in this manga. This is not without precedent, given that Sara Nome’s singing can lift rocks and cause all sorts of magic things in Macross Zero, but she did that while singing naked! Sheryl is totally playing Shin Kudo’s role here… and I’ll stop now.

image

BUT I CAN’T. I’ve gone beyond acceptance. I’m laughing out loud because this is just so funny, intentional or not. The whole Miss Macross Frontier scene got change. The Miranda Melin character is gone… and some bitches saw it fit to sabotage Ranka’s performance. Why would they feel threatened? The fuck do I know! Also, SINGING AIMO IN A SWIMSUIT ROFLMAOOOOO!

I don’t know how many chapters this manga will run, and I don’t really care that much. But I will definitely read this. If you’re affected by all this deviation from “the story” in any way, let me know in the comments. If you’re grieving, what stage are you in? The sixth stage is the best: LOL. It’s where I want you to join me.

About ghostlightning

I entered the anime blogging sphere as a lurker around Spring 2008. We Remember Love is my first anime blog. Click here if this is your first time to visit WRL.
This entry was posted in Macross Frontier and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Sheryl–Kiss in The Galaxy and The Sixth Stage of Grief

  1. schneider says:

    What hath Kawamori wrought? This does not exist!

  2. bluemist says:

    Fanservice and moecrap. Madness? This is Macross.

  3. Ha, I was told stage 6 was overcompensating with general promiscuity, but that’s probably in line with breakups. Lol works out well too.

    I’m currently watching Macross for the first time (just finished the Plus movie/ovas) so I can’t comment on what I haven’t seen; personally I’m still shocked to hear the various series are fictional accounts.

    My stance regarding adaptations is simple; if I don’t like what I’m seeing/reading I’ll happily convince myself it’s fictional and probably nothing like reality (guess I’m stuck in stage 1). That actually makes Minmay’s popularity in SDF1 somewhat more bearable. 🙂

    • LOL is consistent with overcompensation. You can say what I’m doing is analogous to general promiscuity: reading and liking everything as if each were the canon versions I wanted to like in the first place.

      Denying Minmay’s popularity? Bad case of the Stage 1s… so sad.

  4. megaroad1 says:

    I used to rage about Kawamori’s relaxed views on canon and continuity, but have finally come to accept them, and like you, just choose to LOL when it get’s too silly. At the end of the day, if you look at it carefully, the core which is the TV series do not really contradict themselves that much in most facts, with the exception of SDFM and DYRL (Macross II is a separate issue). In the same vein, I think Kiss in the Galaxy, despite taking some liberties, doesn’t really deviate that much form the story we know and love.

    But yeah, Ranka’s new found magic talents are bit much to swallow.

    BTW Glad to see that MIlia got a spaceport named after her, he he.

    • Now here is a mature and evolved fellow. You are psychologically fit… tempered through the fires of grief to emerge as a fine alloy of being a Macross fan and a masochist.

    • Xard says:

      ” In the same vein, I think Kiss in the Galaxy, despite taking some liberties, doesn’t really deviate that much form the story we know and love.”

      HHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

      OH YOU WISH SO, YOU WISH

      It’s pretty meaningless to complain about character development in this particular manga but I’ve rarely got so buttmad over it as with what author did to Ranka’s character in…last volume and half or so

      • Xard says:

        *character derailment, not development derp

      • megaroad1 says:

        So Ranka’s song and personality has some extra characteristics. Big deal. The main plot remains more or less the same (Vajra-seem bad, Frontier-seem good, Grace-who knows, Sheryl want’s to sing to everyone, Alto is hotter than any female, etc etc etc).

        • How about you actually read the vols before deciding to get snide? There’s world of difference between the two Kawamori MacrossF’s (series/films) and their internal differences and Kiss of the Galaxy vs either of them.

          • megaroad1 says:

            You might very well be right but I can only comment on what is translated into english so far. I cannot read japanese.

          • Xard says:

            Fair enough, sorry for the tone. I just felt a little bit upset at the time of your reply. Anyway, there are a lot things wrong with how things develop – there are some bits I like the hilarious fight between Ranka and Sheryl fans (which responds to realities of internet a bit too well) who look like bunch of “yankee” hooligans from 70s battle manga but such things are truly in the minority next to epic fail and derp the series showcases.

            It’s just that personally speaking what they did with Ranka’s character and the ending (actually these two tie quite well as the ending read as kind-of nonsensical shipper wet dream for all characters) bugged me the most of all because they ended up undoing one crucial difference between her and Minmay that I always found important…and it was done so clumsily that it felt like horrible fanfiction.

            On more “objective” level there are much bigger faults in this…”adaptation” but on personal level that ticked me off the most. Though now I can just laugh at it all. Crappy manga with good art and nice posters (and I’m probably going to buy it sooner or later for the latter two, sigh)

  5. Stormshrug says:

    Reminds me of the all the Code Geass spinoff manga series that briefly bloomed during the height of R2’s Clusterf*ckery, then died off (or rather, dropped into obscurity once the show ended). This isn’t quite as extreme canon lulz as Nightmare of Nunally or Lelouch of The Meiji Restoration, though.

    • Stormshrug says:

      Oh, or the best one, Code Geass as a shoujo manga with NO GODDAM ROBOTS.

      • Matt Wells says:

        Or Evangelion as a slice of life high school drama? You know, like episode 26 satirised in the TV series, but played dead straight and spectacuarly missing the point?

    • Those things are different in that they are obviously alternate universes. In Macross, it’s like this: Just like there are 99999354543850914834 films, books, tv shows, etc about WW2 and none of them tell the complete and accurate story, so it must be with each Macross unit of media.

      The first scene in the 2nd chapter of Sheryl — Kiss in the Galaxy has her performing as Minmay telling off Hikaru that she’ll sing; and wholly acting like some strong heroine. This basically rewrote the ending of SDFM where Hikaru dumped her by saying “s’okay you go sing your songs, my penis goes to Misa now”

      This is Inception level meta, and shows you the cavalier attitude of Kawamori towards the canon.

      • Stormshrug says:

        I dunno, I’m not sure it really shakes out as being all that different. I remember your post where you described how Kawamori said he treats ALL Macross works as meta-fiction, including “main” canon works like SDF Macross. Ergo, if all Macross works are a show-within-a-show (though, what the meta-show is is not clear), then they’re all just alternate universes, from a functional standpoint. Intellectually, yes, perhaps these two states are different, but the end result is the same: you can’t make all Code Geass spinoffs fit in the same universe, and you can’t make all Macross spinoffs fit in the same universe, because contradictions of fact preclude that possibility.

        Now, I guess what you’re getting at, and this is a bit more interesting, is *why Kawamori would even attempt* to say we should try to make all of these things fit in the same universe.

        I would argue that based on his claim of total meta-fictionality, he doesn’t actually ask us to make this leap. No universe he has put forth is true, obviously. But further, no universe he has put forth is true *even within the confines of the “true” universe in which it supposedly exists*. The only universe they have to coexist (fictionally) in is a total theoretical, and thus totally indistinguishable from our own. So, really, to say “all of these works of fiction are actually works of fiction within another fictional universe” is just to say “all of the following works are fictional.” The difference between fiction and meta-fiction is only meaningful when there is an established meta-fictional universe. The distinction *exists* without it, but it isn’t meaningful.

        TL;DR: Kawamori is trollin’ like Nolan.

        • Stormshrug says:

          To play devil’s advocate to myself, it would be really fascinating to use meta-fiction to build a fictional universe that existed entirely on inference. Sort of how many ancient texts are lost, but we have rough to fairly accurate summations of their contents from later response texts that survived.

          But I still think he’s sitting in his jet putting on his troll face to say “Problem, Audience?”

        • Dunno about trolling. For all I know he simply prefers this kind of anti-canon flexibility. It is however, highly unbelievable that he didn’t consider how viewers will react, so there’s some risk playing on his end. But trolling implies baiting and fucking around with expectations and I’m not sure this is the case, especially given how long ago he made those statements.

          He’s now just being consistent.

          • Stormshrug says:

            But anti-canon flexibility pretty strongly suggests a knowledge of a pro-canon fandom (and almost all fandoms are pro-canon; some go so far as to make up their own canon if matters are unclear or details are missing, after all).

            With this in mind, don’t you think it’s a bit trollish to make it impossible for all of the works to fit together, but offer strong indicators that it should? The rational thing to do is, of course, just respond to this by saying that despite all appearances, all Macross universes are AUs in the same way that all Code Geass spinoffs are AUs. But fandoms instinctively and desperately desire the ability to make everything fit neatly. Now, some creators are just oblivious to this fact, or to the fact that there even IS a consensus of canon amongst readers of their works, but I can’t believe that I guy who takes the time to say that all of his work is meta-fictional could have missed this boat.

            If he knows what people want, and he is deliberately subverting it in a way that makes some members of the fandom pull their hair out trying to make it all work, he’s a troll. Perhaps this isn’t his only reason for doing what he does, but I don’t think it’s a consequence he has overlooked.

          • If you put it that way, then fine, he’s a troll.

            Now, the question is: is it an important matter that he is one? I suppose to the pro-canon fandom, it is. To me it is not as important, though perhaps as a matter of discussion. It can be fascinating, I must admit.

  6. Martin says:

    This manga looks…weird. Makes me wonder what influence the man himself had in it. But then, Macross Zero did have those floating rocks (I swear Kawamori was high when he wrote that) and I’ve heard Macross Seven has some environmentalist subtext involving space whales or something (can’t wait to see that for myself when I get around to that show).

    I guess Macross is like an old friend: the one who does some stupid shit every now and then, embarrasses you and gets into scrapes but it’s fine because this person’s awesome and fun to be around, and you have so many years of good memories. I guess the occasional “WTF?” moments are outweighed by the good times…and you can always laugh about it afterwards.

    • Matt Wells says:

      Kawamori is a strange mixture of World War II Otaku and high off his ass Hippy.

      • Xard says:

        Where the hell did WWII part come from? I’d understand it a bit better if you were talking about Anno but Kawamori? Wat

        • Matt Wells says:

          I read somewhere in the Animeigo liner notes that both Kawamori and Mikimoto were well known World War II nerds. Admittedly not to the degree of Leji Matsumoto, I think he was mainly obsessed with the machinary and vehicles, and of course the epic battles. Citation needed of course.

    • The Macross Dynamite 7 stuff isn’t subtext. It’s in your face like a pod of giant space whales. Then it gives you a yuri rape attempt scene, and a naked loli in an onsen just for good measure.

      Yes, Macross is indeed like an old friend, one I’ve had for over a quarter of a century. It’s always worth remembering love for.

  7. ROFLMAO!

    This manga is something either you can love or hate… or both; it’s so insanely bad it’s kind of funny-good: a rival idol who’s a ringer for a Pretty Cure, seeing Ranka doing her Snow White thing, Alto acting as if he’s Indiana Jones (in Temple of Doom), and of course the Super-Dimensional Cinderella singing while — of all things — wearing a school swimsuit!

    Actually, this one is more like a need to get one’s mind off from focusing on the whole show too seriously, and with the co-creator himself onboard and approving things, heck, I think he wants to let his hair down and let someone mess up canon and the whole storyline for laughs.

    BTW, the manga comes in three volumes (and I don’t want to say much about the third, ‘cept it turns a bit bloody darker).

    And I’m keeping this because it’s entertaining.

  8. Bruno J. Global says:

    I’m in your level, I guess. It can’t be helped.
    I’m really unfazed with whatever they do to Sheryl because she’s such a versatile character.
    As for that new Ranka powers, is it really the same as ANIMA SPIRITIA HEALING POWERS of Basara and Sara Nome, the kind that removes any injury and restores the vitality of nature? What I’m seeing is just a bunch of animals attracted to a singing human-zentran female. I think it’s just a form of moe-moe power that’s all the rage in anime nowadays, albeit it’s of a level higher than the strong HHHNNNGGG-inducing power since even non-sentient beings are affected.

    Anyway, I’ve started watching Macross 7. I’m at ep 7 and I’ve seen astonishing things like INSTRUMENT CONTROLLED VF, SPEAKER PODS, TRAPTASTIC FINAL BOSS, ALIEN VAMPIRES and BIKERS IN SPACE, and I’m enjoying it. Really, I find the ragehate for this series overblown. Mylene truly is Max and Milia’s daughter, while Gamlin is such a tsundere it makes me HHHNNNGGG.

    • I don’t know if they’re the same thing. Though here is one other similarity:

      Sara sings, makes Shin jizz in his pants (it helped that she was nekkid)
      Basara sings, Sivil goes into orgasm over and over.
      Ranka sings a Vajra mating call, Sheryl shlicks in her pantsu.

      COINCIDENCE!?!?!?!

      Macross 7 is my favorite sequel. For the reasons you say, and oh so much more.

    • Martin says:

      Oh God, I HAVE to watch Macross 7 with that sort of endorsement, SOLD. ^_^

  9. hmmm…..interesting….gotta go find this manga

  10. Xard says:

    *snort*

    I had hysterical laugh fit reading how your virgin eyes were mutilated by this thing. You weren’t aware of this thing before? HAHAHAHAHAHA

    Comments have been most lulzy too. Beautiful ;___;

    Anyway, I know it’s fun to go all Colony Drop and blame anything that goes wrong with Macross on Kawamori and when something is good point to whoever is standing next to him at that particular moment. But it’s *not fair* most of the time and definetly not in this case.

    Back when I first learmed of this manga only first chapter had been scanlated. I read it and the storytelling was appalling esp. in terms of pacing, as is obvious. I know the scanlators continued for some time later but eventually dropped this so I’m not sure if you’ll ever find the rest translated. Oh well, I read the whole thing raw anyway… 😀

    Well, let’s start as there’re many things to address

    1. The manga writing. If you think THIS is crazy and bad I honestly CAN’T WAIT till you get your hands on later volumes, especially the third one. If this post is anything to go by I’ll be having tears in my eyes from laughter. Which is quite the difference in comparison to my initial reaction to manga because I WAS SO MAD. SO MAD. The final volume drove me to such depths of rage that it’s impossible to verbalize. As said I don’t think later two volumes have been scanlated but raws are easy to find. They’re definetly, uhhh, readable. You can still follow the story and actually it’s better if you can’t follow the dialogue… not by much though

    At least the first volume *somewhat* conforms to Kawamori’s MF. Third volume is already 95% in its own original realm of WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT and WHAT.

    Here’s couple of pages from volume three for anyone interested:

    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/17/033re.jpg/
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/269/045rek.jpg/

    WHERE IS YOUR GOD NOW?!?!?!?!!?!??!?!??!!?!?!??!?!?!?

    (I’ll address other stuff in another post because this deserves its own)

    • Anyway, I know it’s fun to go all Colony Drop and blame anything that goes wrong with Macross on Kawamori and when something is good point to whoever is standing next to him at that particular moment. But it’s *not fair* most of the time and definetly not in this case.

      That’s as much fun as being an ignorant, hate-filled choad.

      I’ve been aware of this for some time, but I don’t do spoilers and only read scanlated parts. So I’ve just read chapters 0 and 1 or whatever.

      Who the hell is raping Ranka in those images? (Not sure if want to know right now LOL)

      • Xard says:

        Sorry for the late, late reply. Reasons being dorammas elsewhere on teh internets (cue friends needing help) and simply being busy in the so called real world.

        “That’s as much fun as being an ignorant, hate-filled choad.”

        Well, yeah. I honestly like Kawamori a lot. He seems to be genuinely nice guy and this is reflected in sort of empathy and warmth his stories have in comparison to those of Tomino and Anno. If I had choice to go drink beer with one of the three major mecha creators I’d go with Kawamori without doubt. Of course that would come with benefits of getting to ask him what on earth he was thinking when making Macross 7 and Aquarion

        as for scanlators, I heard somewhere some other group picked this up. I hope this is true.

        “Who the hell is raping Ranka in those images? (Not sure if want to know right now LOL)”

        Well, don’t read this if you don’t want to:

        The new ULTIMATE BIG BAD whose ridiculous psychodrama and grimdark backstory swallow huge chunk of final volume. Basically the leader of Galaxy fleet is a rapey yuritastic gothic loli who mindcontrols people by kissing them and being a vamp in general. LOL

        well, I’m off to write the long ago promised continuation reply…

        • I… I ended up reading it…. and fail at words.

          • Xard says:

            her backstory is the real shit. 😛 Not to mention the damn church/castle/whatever thing she lives in/uses as base, that shit is just pure gold and is so out of place that… oh boy 😀

            Let’s just say that I found Grace in TV series villain with much more tact. This bitch could’ve been from Aquarion or something.

            Fun spoiler from vol 2 (read if you want):

            Brera….dressed as Alto…. shooting Sheryl….with laser in his finger

            Kiss in the Galaxy is the literary masterpiece of the decade.

  11. Turambar says:

    This is absolutely amazing and I never want to read it.

  12. Vendredi says:

    Clearly, Ranka is somehow in a line of direct descent from Disney princesses such as Snow White, even if only in a metaphorical sense (modern Japanese animation having it’s roots at least partly taken from the West).

  13. karice says:

    >>…but from the orientation of Sheryl .
    And also with a heavy shoujo lens…(^_^;; )

    Hm…it looks like I skipped stages 2-4 and went straight from denial (I’ll take Macross F TV as canon, thank you very much) to acceptance about a month after I saw the second film. But not acceptance in the sense that ‘there’s nothing to be done about it’, but rather because it gives me a really basic continuity for Frontier that I’m happy with. Kawamori may confirm, or perhaps, deny, the continuity I’ve settled on by releasing another updated chronology, but for now, I’m quite content.

    Back to “Kiss in the Galaxy” and Kawamori’s involvement therein though…from his interview in the first volume, Kawamori doesn’t seem to have been responsible for anything other than giving the go ahead to “Bessatsu Friend” to create a shoujo manga with Sheryl as the main character. And possibly the idea for the manga to depict Sheryl rising to stardom and showing what happens backstage in the performing world – these are a couple of aspects of Frontier that he wanted to see, but which he thought a shoujo manga would do better at depicting. It seems like he just wanted to created something for young girls to take heart/inspiration from (though the idea that 12-15yo girls, who are supposedly the main readership of Bessatsu Friend, wouldn’t just roll their eyes at this manga, just blows my mind…).

    • Yes, the non-acceptance you talk about is more like resignation: “fuck it, whatever.”

      He’s responsible for letting it become this way, it’s impossible for me to imagine him having no authority to stop anything he doesn’t accept.

      LOL the imagined audience eye-rolling really made me laugh.

      • karice says:

        >> Yes, the non-acceptance you talk about is more like resignation: “fuck it, whatever.”
        It’s not actually – I quite like post-modernism, after all. But I probably won’t be explaining what I take from all the different ‘versions’ of Frontier until everyone has seen the second film.

        >> He’s responsible for letting it become this way, it’s impossible for me to imagine him having no authority to stop anything he doesn’t accept.
        Of course he accepted it – he wanted to see a shoujo manga about Sheryl, written by someone else.

        >> LOL the imagined audience eye-rolling really made me laugh.
        It’s just scary to think that they’d actually like that kind of story…though some of the Japanese high school girls I actually knew don’t give me much confidence…

        • This gave me a grand idea: by the end of the second film I’m going to ask everyone to create their preferred continuity, and make it a complete postmodern experience to boot. I’ll curate everything in the comments. Everyone will have a “wild card” that they can use to change one thing that isn’t provided for by all the official versions… maybe.

  14. Xard says:

    and rest of my reply is finally ready to be written…

    First of all, Kawamori was not that much involved with the storyline. Of course he had to approve things to a degree and he gave the starting point (Sheryl’s backstory as far as how she ended up in the streets is canon material but not depicted in anime) and concepts:

    – Kawamori wanted to shoujo version of MacF story (hence it follows slavishly shoujo tropes down to having Sheryl have her own sempai figure in her early teens…it’s just not very well done shoujo)
    – This version was to focus on the school part etc. of the MF mix over the war against Vajra etc. “serious” storybits that ended up taking the focus in animeverse. This is why the high school life etc. plays such big part in the manga and actual action etc. is minimal

    however, it’s the mangaka who actually came up with the storyline and the insanity here. Kawamori said in the interview at the back of vol. 1 that he likes reading “others interprepations” of his works which basically confirms that he was taking rather hands off approach to the whole thing. After all, there wouldn’t be any surprises or tension to him as a reader if he was the one coming up with the ludicruosity, nor would it truly be interprepation of MF by someone else.

    This is why I say you can’t really blame Kawamori for this manga.

    ***************************

    For specific comments

    >Why? It’s because I have to accept that my ideas of continuity and canon simply do not hold in the Macross franchise. I went from stages 1 through 4 in my post when I discussed how every Macross show, film, manga, or book, is an ‘official’ in-universe TV show, film, manga, or book, the way we accept Macross: Do You Remember Love? to be. There is no singular, official, canon version of the story involving any of the characters in the wars they were part of.

    I think you took this thing too hard and seriously. Kawamori pulled the tv shows deal in 90s. Since then he has not talked about it and has returned more to the “essence of Macross story” being expressed in slightly different ways depending on medium and circumstances. The “metafiction” angle is entirely meaningless and just says the obvious: that we’re watching series and films. C’mon, if we’re being straight to the point and honest this is just essentially a way for Kawamori to have creative freedom with his reinterprepations. He doesn’t mind canon that much. By keeping references and continuity to older works as vague and not strong enough to be too specific it gives him more playground. What version of Minmay is the “canon” one? It doesn’t really matter, probably a mixture of both. We know that generally speaking SDFM storyline is closer to the real history, but we also know DYRL was sung in the conflict which only happens in the films. We see Zentraedis and Zentraedi ships with DYRL designs. We see meltrandi fleet in M7 and the term meltrandi is used. Etc etc.

    In the end none of this matters much. It’s only issue if one wants PRECISE historical continuity but Kawamori has no interest in such. Nor do I, really. There’s continuity no matter how vague and that’s enough for me, especially since it means we can get interesting new takes on core storylines as seen with original Macross and DYRL and MF series/films.

    >Next: RANKA HAS POWERS OVER ANIMALS AND TREES! I wish I can make this shit up. Kawamori is included as a main collaborator in this manga. This is not without precedent, given that Sara Nome’s singing can lift rocks and cause all sorts of magic things in Macross Zero, but she did that while singing naked! Sheryl is totally playing Shin Kudo’s role here… and I’ll stop now.

    I’m shocked that this has shocked so many, haha 😀

    First of all, it’s not like Ranka has COMMAND over animals (aka she has weird powers), she’s just living in a perfect harmony with them like a freaking Snow White. The presentation is WAY over the top but essentially this is just the beautiful, rather mesmerizing Aimo scene from Sayonara no Tsubasa flanderized beyond belief and turned into corny, hammy shit. What I’m saying is: this is no new part of Ranka’s characterization, rather this scene reflects one of very cores of her character. It does it in ridiculous Disneyesque fashion but it’s not strictly speaking OOC trait for her.

    If anything the surprise this has caused (I admit I was too taken back by it initially but then I realized this didn’t really conflict with her character, it was just presented in silly way typical for the manga) has given me enough reason to finally start writing down my text on the “cores” of Sheryl and Ranka’s characters…now I should just decide whether I wait for Sayonara or not to get the QED material. Hmm…

    at this point I’d like to remind people about singing making seeds sprout and shit in Macross 7 film so this wouldn’t be the first time outside context of Macross Zero either…also, whale singan 😀

    >The Miranda Melin character is gone… and some bitches saw it fit to sabotage Ranka’s performance. Why would they feel threatened? The fuck do I know!

    more obligatory shoujo cliches in action. Of course there needs to be mean bitches picking on poor girl! 😀

    • If you wrote this as a blog post and I published it on WRL, I have to take responsibility for it.

      Of course I take this very seriously. I like canon. I like continuity. These are very important things to me, and of course I’ll QQ when the most important franchise in my existence as a fanboy tramples on my poor feelings!

      Kawamori wants to do whatever he wants without having to work very hard. Oh well. It’s not like I’m going to hate Macross.

      As for your notes, you’re right to credit it just to bad manga-making …but hell Ranka does seem to have command over the furry animals here.

  15. Xard says:

    “If you wrote this as a blog post and I published it on WRL, I have to take responsibility for it.”

    Wait, wrote what? The character post? Well, it’s not immeadiate concern.

    I understand your feelings but really, pretty much any Macross (perhaps barring Zero, Zero is kinda unsatisfactory without the rest of the franchise as a storyline IMO) series is highly individual so minute details of past series never need to be fixed in certain position. Did Isamu meet Guld first time in the hangar after test flight (film) or at design meeting (OVA)? Really, does such thing matter much. What matters in Macross Plus for rest of the franchise (mainly for Frontier at this point and then there’s VF-19’s etc. in 7) is clear and shared by both continuities. It’s the general outlines and grand events and scenarios that influence later developments in the franchise. Does it really matter was Minmay “really” the SDFM or DYRL Minmay when “both” characters end up growing into one we see in 2012? Remember Flashback animated intended ending scenes for series and the film, thus in a sense bringing the two versions of the character together and fusing them.

    i understand why it bugs some people but I’ve always had great appreciation for Kawamori’s meta-brilliance. Basically “True Macross” is Kant’s Das Ding an Sich while various versions of same work are the noumenom…but since we never have access to Das Ding an Sich it doesn’t practically matter one way or another. It’s not like Kawamori writes Macross works with “this is fictional tv show in fictional universe” in his mind so the whole ’97 claim isn’t very important and he seems to have abandonded it afterwards (according to album liner notes Triangler is theme song of in-universe SDFM adaptation… but Triangler is not op of SDFM so the fictional in-universe Macross and SDFM from 80s are not the same). And he hasn’t really returned to it before or after. I prefer his wording from 1995 ( http://web.archive.org/web/20070301111344/http://members.aol.com/LongZhu/Shoji.htm ):

    It seems many American fans tend to thing of the Macross movie as the “official” Macross continuity. What’s your opinion?
    Consider real history. Many different stories have been created based on the same historical facts, haven’t they? For example, there are many stories about World War II. It’s the same thing with Macross. The real Macross is out there, somewhere. If I tell the story in the length of a TV series, it looks one way, and if I tell it as a movie-length story, it’s organized another way.

    “…but hell Ranka does seem to have command over the furry animals here.”

    well, yeah. It’s possible but not absolutely certain so… Wouldn’t be first time in the franchise either way though…

    • I just meant in general terms, if you write anything about Macross and submitted it to me… if I publish it I must take responsibility for it unless I state otherwise (that it specifically doesn’t represent my views).

      Well, yeah… one could approach the franchise that way and that’s the way to approach it to progress along the stages of grief. The subject of the post is exactly how I’ve overcome it such that I can just lose myself enjoying the literary masterpiece of all manga and for all time Sheryl: Kiss in the Galaxy.

      As for your question, I hold the events in SDFM the ‘true history’ and that there’s no such discovery of the Protoculture on Earth, much less a song with lyrics translated by Misa and music performed by Minmay. That’s a very convenient story that can be especially made for the movie.

      Sheryl’s Minmay biopic is part of a long tradition of Minmay biopics (to include DYRL and Mylene’s) but is even more pro-Minmay in that Minmay here proactively rejects Hikaru and chooses music. ROFLMAO.

      Based on my recent viewing of SDFM, and my periodic viewings of DYRL (sometimes 2x a year) I cannot privilege the movie version of events. I can only prefer its visual representation — fucked up Exsedol and all.

      But given Kawamori’s satyr-like attitude towards continuity and canon, I know that this is not the ‘real’ story and an infinite number of versions can exist. As Macross the First has already begun to show us — Minmay has a token animal pet like Gubaba/Ai-kun.

      • Xard says:

        “I just meant in general terms, if you write anything about Macross and submitted it to me… if I publish it I must take responsibility for it unless I state otherwise (that it specifically doesn’t represent my views).”

        Well, I’ll see what I do and if I do something I might as well contact you via email…among the lines of discussion we had earlier this year (winter?) but I ended up being too busy as I had feared. Well, now I’m moving to other side of country by the end of the month but that’s it… 😛

        ************

        >That’s a very convenient story that can be especially made for the movie.

        Definetly. It’s the case of “If I tell the story in the length of a TV series, it looks one way, and if I tell it as a movie-length story, it’s organized another way.” precisely. I think the tv version of SDFM was confirmed back in the day as the more determinative (with DYRL film in Macross 7 and all) and very close to the “actual history” but…again, it isn’t the whole truth as esp. Frontier seems to point at. The scenes of Space War I seen in MF are all based on DYRL scenes, Grace practically confirms Ai Oboete Imasuka? being sung in the conflict, picture of Minmay Bilrer holds so dear has her in DYRL outfit etc. – so while sunken cities (then again, Zero DOES confirm heavy protoculture influence on planet even if disregarding DYRL) and AiObo being Misa’s translation is probably not true some DYRL elements really happened. Perhaps Minmay sang the song after the ep 27 medley, for example. One way or another this is pretty fruitless speculation as the creators clearly take elements they like from older works and use them freely…

        With Plus it doesn’t matter one way or another as OVA/Film are practically identical but it DOES interest me which version of Frontier ends up playing more determining role for future titles. I hope it’s the film version of the storyline for variety of reasons.

        As for DYRL vs SDFM, I always have hard time. I have higher score on MAL for DYRL which is a truly great film and free of obvious flaws like those SDFM has (QUALITY issues most notably), it’s more tightly written without being forced to drag out the triangle, Minmay’s treatment in DYRL turned her into the most iconic and popular character in franchise’s history and one of the greats of 80s anime (I’m simply speaking about things in terms of popularity, Minmay is the queen in Japan…Misa doesn’t stand a chance in polls), the visuals are of course incomparable etc… but on the other hand the post-war arc which DYRL doesn’t have is my favourite part of Macross and I prefer the narrative in the series overall. Characters also get much more development, naturally enough.

        As for Macross The First, I own all three volumes (third one came out recently) but I’ve only read first one so far. Excluding Minmay’s pet + fanservice boost it has stayed really loyal to series so far… maybe it starts to get more unique slant to it later. I don’t really care one way or another as it’s been superb. Art is too damn beautiful. Idea of getting The First animated like that Gundam The Origin makes me drool.

        • I’ve sent you an invite to Google+

          This is where we’ll plan our collaboration. I have a role in mind for you and it is a big one. It’s one of the most ambitious things I’ve ever thought of and of course it’s at the core of my Totsugeki Love Heart for Macross. Contact me over there when you’ve set up your account. This is going to be amazing.

          All of it is related to what we’re discussing now.

  16. Dearline says:

    I love that manga as a guilty pleasure. I cherish the posters. Did you finish it? This seems to be tailored to give the majority of the fanbase what the want in one continuity.

Leave a Reply

