12 Moments of Anime 2011: Daikichi Takes The Highest Road and Portrays a Manliest Display of Manliness (Usagi Drop)

horriblesubs-usagi-drop-08-720p-mkv_snapshot_11-12_2011-09-01_15-59-08

[Fifth Moment: Hanasaku Iroha and How to Make Boys Watch Cheesy Chick Media]

There are notable displays of manliness this year: Banagher Links beats up the captain of the Grancieres, and lectures him on his own righteousness in Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn; Rider demonstrates what it means to be King in Fate/Zero; General True in Broken Blade by being generally awesome – living and dying for his people (he gave all his money to orphanages and dies so that his troops can escape). But I think my favorite is the least showy.

Daikichi who now raises Rin, is amazing in how he is very much aware of how much he’s giving up in his life for Rin, and at the same time never makes it the story of his life. He is humble in acknowledging what parents who have raised children Rin’s age from birth, and yet reluctant to judge Rin’s mother. His crowning moment of compassion was when he let her see Rin in the flesh while Rin visits Grandpa’s grave.

Daikichi would never mess around by actually letting Masako meet Rin, but his heart is super dimensional that he’d let her see Rin from cover. He still knows she is a mother. As a parent myself, this is heartbreakingly priceless. Daikichi is my man of the year.

horriblesubs-usagi-drop-08-720p-mkv_snapshot_16-31_2011-09-01_16-04-36

I think you should not be involved in your child’s life
Even as I struggle with how you made your choice.
This place still reminds me of the choice you could have made,
This cemetery where your benefactor rests

Tells me that you chose life anyway;
And I am no one, but I thank you for that anyway.
And thus, while your daughter remembers love
For he who cared about both of you the most

I let you watch from behind the tombstones
Why exactly I don’t know.
Perhaps from this guilt, of not being a parent myself
That I don’t deserve all this happiness of raising a daughter;

To keep just for myself
It must be shared, and I don’t do twitter.

About ghostlightning

I entered the anime blogging sphere as a lurker around Spring 2008. We Remember Love is my first anime blog. Click here if this is your first time to visit WRL.
This entry was posted in moments of 2011 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 12 Moments of Anime 2011: Daikichi Takes The Highest Road and Portrays a Manliest Display of Manliness (Usagi Drop)

  1. raile says:

    Hey ghosty…I’m pretty sure you know about Bagyong Sendong, I live in CdeO, a place that was greatly affected. It was really devastating. T__T

    I know this might be too much to ask, and you can choose to delete this if you want. But would it be possible if you can help spread the word? A lot of people really need help. 😦

    http://helpcdo.com/

  2. Shinmarizu says:

    I think Daikichi is one of those underrated, but highly successful male protagonists. Then again, he is older and more mature, unlike a typical male protagonist… *sigh* Wish there were more of these in anime in general.

    • He’s in a quiet little story so it’s easy not to know all about him. Also, the kind of awesomeness he presents isn’t obvious to most viewers whose life experience barely lends to appreciation of this anime in general.

  3. Pingback: 12 Moments in Anime 2011: Kaiji Killed Me Every Week | We Remember Love

  4. Ryan A says:

    Daikichi has a great personality, even though he does come off a bit generic at first, he is a man! Man of the year? Seems fitting, he’s right up there with Kotetsu.

    • I’d pick Daikichi over Kotetsu any day. There wasn’t anything generic about Daikichi. How many 30 year old leads are there in anime, reasonably successful middle management salary-men, single without being kimoi-otaku, with no anime male hangups?

  5. Xard says:

    Daikichi = Man of the Year

    this is no contest

    • Hehe, I won’t argue against that. Daikichi is the fucking man.

      • Xard says:

        I loved Usagi Drop so much I ended up buying first four volumes of manga. They were great too and actually went a bit further inside Daikichi’s head (this came with expense of losing some focus on Rin that I felt was very important so all in all I think anime came off sligthly better). Still lovely stuff, it’s just that I don’t know how much longer I can buy those volumes safely before the dreaded time skip comes…

Leave a Reply

