12 Moments in Anime 2011: Kaiji Killed Me Every Week

kaiiiiiiiiiiijiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

[Sixth Moment: Daikichi Takes The Highest Road and Portrays a Manliest Display of Manliness (Usagi Drop)]

The second season of Kaiji was a coronary threat every week. If you followed it week by week you know very well what I mean. I think the suspense went overboard and dragged on for too long, but ultimately the payoff was worth it. Ridiculous? Yes. Awesome? Absolutely.

problem_ichijou

What am I watching? I am watching an illusionist’s performance!
There is only so much pathos that my mind can process,
As if trying to eat twenty six different hamburgers at once;
I am overwhelmed by both the quantity and the flavors

And just keep on eating, because I remember this notion:
Hamburgers are awesome! A persistent thought, as I choke on the stuff.
I keep chewing, swallowing, pushed down by this awesome suspense
Ushered along by this narrator, that does a little less of narrating

But calling Kaiji’s dramatic life like some sporting event. It is awesome
Like hamburgers like awesome.
The narration must be the ketchup, the onions, the tomatoes, the goddamn cheese
That makes me keep eating, chewing, swallowing!

This contest of survival between the lowest of the low – I gorge myself;
Until my heart stops, a threat at the end of each hamburger,
Until that release, oh sweet release! Kaji has beaten the Bog after a smashing
Display of cheating and underhandedness from everyone involved.

I will regret all this in the toilet, but while it lasted, the banquet was spectacular.

About ghostlightning

I entered the anime blogging sphere as a lurker around Spring 2008. We Remember Love is my first anime blog. Click here if this is your first time to visit WRL.
This entry was posted in moments of 2011 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 12 Moments in Anime 2011: Kaiji Killed Me Every Week

  1. -chii- says:

    BALLS BALLS BALLS!

  2. animekritik says:

    Ah, toilet regret, always bittersweet..

  3. Reed says:

    I think over this coming winter break I am going to marathon Akagi and both seasons of Kaiji. I expect it to be glorious.

  4. Pingback: Moments of Anime 2012: Welcome to Rock & Roll Survival Strategy (Mawaru Penguindrum) | We Remember Love

Leave a Reply

