Amazing Grace and Redeeming Love

Eureka Title Bar_B

Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound, That saved a wretch like me, I once was lost but now am found, Was blind, but now, I see.

Begining with Episode 40, Eureka sevenN starts its final opening sequence for the series. The opening verse from the song is from a iconic 18 century song “Amazing Grace”. Amazing grace is a song with a “message that forgiveness and redemption are possible regardless of the sins people commit.” In the homestretch of the show, redemption and love is found for three of our protagonists; Captain Jurgens, Lieutenant Dominic, and Anemone.

T’was Grace that taught my heart to fear. And Grace, my fears relieved. How precious did that Grace appear The hour I first believed.

Jurgens captains the ship Izumo. In Episode 44, while visiting Warsaw, we find that Jurgens lost is wife and daughter in the war. These loses hardened Jergens in Warsaw Jurgens, and he typically follows orders without question. But while visiting Warsaw, his home town, he begins reading the last issue of Ray=Out. In this, he finds truth in the situation. His eyes are finally opened, and his belief in truth Jergens Speechrenewed, when he learns of Dewey’s, and his path to redemption begins. In the following episode, He makes the choice to join Gekkostate, and begins his fight against Dewey. His final act in Episode 49 is to take in the Ageha Squad, as reparations for his actions leading to the current state of the world.

 Through many dangers, toils and snares, I have already come; ‘Tis Grace that brought me safe thus far and Grace will lead me home

Domincs DisgustWarsaw is also a turning point for Lieutenant Dominic. Dominic finally makes his move with Anemone in Episode 43, only to be rejected. In his downtrodden state, Dewey terminates Dominic’s assignment to Anemone, and is ordered to find her replacement. In Warsaw, he visits the Novac Foundation, which experiments on girls with Desperation Disease. When he Dominic Free Fallwitnesses the sick experiment, and the death of all three subjects, he reaches his limit. He decides then to fight against Dewey, and confess his love to Anemoe. In Episode 48, He purposefully risks his life to chase after her, to confess his love. He rushes through an opening made by Dewey to reach her below the surface, wrecking his ship along the way.

  Yea, when this flesh and heart shall fail, And mortal life shall cease, I shall possess within the veil, A life of joy and peace.

In this episode we see Anemone at her emotional bottom pit , a point of utter despair, her confidence wiped out. GhostLightning expresses howAnemone Despair heartbreaking this is. Her dialogue revels it all:

Someone on my mind?
I had someone. Yeah, past tense.
I think about how I should have told him how I felt.
I want to live, to give so many feelings to people.
He isn’t with me any more!
It’s too much. It’s too much!

But Dominic’s selfless act, risking his life on a hope that his love will be returned, is enough to convince Anemone to stop her attack, and finally return his feelings of love for her. Both can now find rebirth in the new world order that is about to begin.

Anemone and Dominic

When we’ve been here ten thousand years Bright shining as the sun. We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise Than when we’ve first begun.

About JoeAnimated

-Growing Older, but never growing up. Father, engineer, and all around nerd. Grew up watching the great american cartoons of the 80's, now a casual watcher of Japanese Anime.
This entry was posted in Eureka SeveN, today's special guest writer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Amazing Grace and Redeeming Love

  1. Shinmarizu says:

    Nicely done. This last quarter of ES was my favourite part of the series, considering I am a sucker for endings where everyone gets some measure of happiness. Especially for Dominic.

  2. Vucub Caquix says:

    Ah man, fantastic post. I remember the Warsaw episode being particularly affecting when I first saw it several years ago, and it lost none of its power when I rewatched it with Emily.

    • JoeAnimated says:

      The Warsaw episode is the tipping point for the end of the show. Decisions are made that drive the show into it’s ending, and force some real character moments. I wonder why I took so long for me to finish this show.

  3. sadakups says:

    The first time I E7’s 4th OP sequence really gave me shivers, even up to this day. Even if I’m just looking at that screen-cap of the Nirvash falling down.

    E7’s final act was really a good watch. And what a way to top it off with that awesome techno track, Niji.

    • JoeAnimated says:

      What’s funny is that I stopped around episode 20 the first time I tried to watch this. I’ve been told I have a knack for quitting on a show early. This was one I was glad to finish. And like you said, the music is great. I love how each episode is named after a song. Just one more reason this is a quality show.

      • sadakups says:

        I actually felt the same around the twenties. I eventually got tired seeing Renton getting trolled by the Gekkostate crew and I felt lazy watching it. That all changed when he met Charles and Ray and we knew how tragic that arc ended.

        What really stuck to me while watching the whole show was the soundtrack. It’s a lot of UNTZ UNTZ UNTZ but I liked it so much. The fact that it complements the LFO-on-LFO action made me actually get the OST. Of course, Niji was the best track of all.

        BTW, what are your thoughts on Astral Ocean?

        • JoeAnimated says:

          Ehhh, I don’t know about AO. Not a lot of information yet. Having the kid look like Eureka leads me to believe that he his her and Renton’s love child, but who knows. And the girl that is with him looks a lot like Talho. My guess is this is some sort of Gekko next generation plot. I guess we’ll see.

        • GunplaMaster91 says:

          I haven’t seen too much info on the show yet, but I’ll definitely check out the anime when it premieres. I’m not sure about you, but I’m crossing my fingers that we get to see Dominic and Anemone, or at least one of their kids, show up in the sequel series. They were my favorite characters in the show, so hopefully the guys at Bones won’t just focus on Renton’s lovechild.

          • JoeAnimated says:

            So the first AO manga came out this week, and wow, does it reveal a lot. If you get the chance, go to Mangastream and check it out. I’ll hold back on the spoilers.

  4. megaroad1 says:

    Dominic’s dive to save Anemone from the pits of despair is one of those scene’s that you always remember. Her dialogue in particular is very emotionally affecting and makes his actions so much more uplifting.

  5. DRUNK COMMENT INCOMING:

    ANEMONE GOING BASCUUUDE CRISIIIIII…. DOMINIKUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU111!!!!

    IS MADE OF TEARS AND JIZZ

    (is this love too?)

  6. Matt Wells says:

    I had only one problem with the powerful ending of this beautiful series… where the fuck did Hilda and Matthieu disappear to? Seriously, for those last six episodes they just fall straight off the map. It’s like the scriptwriters forgot they even existed. Sure they were minor characters, but they deserved far better than Moondoggie. Hell, we all deserve better than Moondoggie.

    • RUTTING LIKE RABBITS WHAT ELSE? JEEZ, why do you have to have this shown? This isn’t smut!

    • JoeAnimated says:

      Moondoggie got the short end for the better part of 30 episodes, so I guess it all balances in the end.

    • Another Shawn says:

      Well, the only problem I had was when Renton popped off on Eureka in one of the final episodes(on the beach), then he started walking towards her as if he was about to abuse her. If Maurice didn’t step in, I think he would’ve given her a hard slap or two, then feel sorry right afterwards. I was all “WTF was that?” That was out of his character, right? That’s something I’d never expect from Renton to Eureka…of all people. What!?

  7. Pingback: The Myarid Paradigms Of Anime Blogging | KaminariAnime

  8. foshizzel says:

    Hooray! This episode was always my favorite compete with Amazing grace ❤ Have you seen Sora no Woto? That song is all over that series near the end, sort of a war time K-on! For most but they did have a mecha tank thing…

  9. Pingback: Spirituality in the Anime Blogosphere: Amazing Grace of Eureka 7, Anime Cons = Anti-Christian, and Homura the Evangelist «

  10. Pingback: The Myarid Paradigms Of Anime Blogging | Moonlitasteria

Leave a Reply

