My Life’s Work

IMG_8674

…is to someday show this blog to my daughter and all her photos in it and embarrass her in front of her hipster friends. Yes, because we all go through life hanging out with people who think they’re so better than everyone else by virtue of the stuff they consume. It happened to me, it’ll happen to her. I have the antidote: ANIME.

My daughter turns two years old today. I remember it like it was yesterday when I broke out the news on twitter that my wife told me she was pregnant. My twitter is exclusively for anime nerds and even then (and it will always will be; I have a twitter account for normalfag stuff and I follow no one and tweet nothing LOL).

In any case, this post isn’t for you. It’s for her because she’s awesome.

 

…Aaaaand she’s a Zeke-loving n00b.

It’ll take a while before she learns how the Principality and the movements that bear its name are failures of the history of the Universal Century, teardrops of time itself. Then again, not even all Zabis are made of fail.

Happy Birthday sweetheart, when you see this someday, may you remember love too.

About ghostlightning

I entered the anime blogging sphere as a lurker around Spring 2008. We Remember Love is my first anime blog. Click here if this is your first time to visit WRL.
This entry was posted in for the lulz. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to My Life’s Work

  1. Vucub Caquix says:

    Oh wow, congratulations! Holy moly, I remember when she was born.

  2. Ryan A says:

    One, two, three, march! Lol, adorable. Those were good times, 2009, still good times. And I think she might be embarrassed but will also probably grow to love WRL.

    Happy Birthday to her!

  3. JoeA says:

    CONGRATS! I can tell you from experience that these early years are some of the best. Enjoy them while they last!

    • The past year was amazing, from TRAINING FROM HELL to get her to walk, to having her hang out with Digibro… it’ll be tough to beat, especially now that she’s a bit of a monster…

      Thanks man, I need all the wisdom of your experience.

  4. animekritik says:

    Time flies fast. Congrats~

  5. Sieg Zeon!! I look forward to seeing your daughter piloting a custom Quebeley in our glorious army! She shall purge space of those who’s souls have been weighed down by Earth’s gravity. Sieg Zeon!! D^:<

  6. Xard says:

    Dawwwwwwwwwww

    • Thanks! Been trying to teach her Aimo without success. I sometimes get her ready for sleep by singing the coda to What ’bout my star.

      • Xard says:

        lol it would make more sense other way around I guess since Aimo is a lullaby 😛

        though looking at show teaching that to a little girl might be a bit dangerous…

        I hope the internet doesn’t crash and burn in between so she can really see the post and comments here (and you can reminiscent about all the digusting freaks who’d post these comments here in days long gone lol) one day 😀

  7. foshizzel says:

    Awwww congrats! Now for some birthday cake xDDD

  8. hirakunoshadow says:

    Urge to kidnap the girl… Rising.

    Just kidding, congratulations on your daughter’s birthday. I’m looking forward to see her face on the day she sees your blog.

  9. Shinmarizu says:

    Holy crap she’s cute. You’ve done a fine job so far, ghost.
    And why is everyone telling her to pilot a mobile suit? We all know Ghost’s going to get her to pilot a YF-29. Sheesh.

  10. -chii- says:

    They get so big so fast! happy birthday little one~

  11. Wow, congratulations, ghostlightning. She’s really adorable. 🙂

  12. Anya says:

    Congratulations Ghost and Happy Birthday to your daughter! SIEG ZEONNNN!

  13. Shinmaru says:

    I salute thee, daughter of ghostlightning. I salute thee.

  14. Reed says:

    Congrats. Someday I will watch more Gundam and Macross than just Macross Plus.

  15. Matt Wells says:

    ABSOLUTE CUTE FIELD VALUES: 400%. ORGANISM DESIGNATED “BUSTERBEAMSLASH” TOO ADORABLE! DIABETES CONTRACTED.

    In your goal of bringing (read: indoctrinating) your daughter into the fandom fold, the results of your efforts are of great interest to me, if I am EVER to become a Dad myself. I’m gonna need a strategy more cunning thean get them while they’re young. Keep us posted, and remember that all it will cost you in the long run is thousands in psychiatry therapy sessions.

    “I was eight months old when I first saw the Invincible Black Castle of Iron Shine in the name of
    Zeus. My father started me off on that primo hardcore shit real young. By two I was taking my anger and turning it into strength, not to mention avoiding the attentions of pedo space nazis. Age 5 I wanted a Variable Fighter for Christmas instead of a My Little Pony. At twelve I was writing Voltes V slash fic, on my fifthteenth birthday party I finished my Master’s Thesis on the Application of Robotic Exoskeletons on the Battlefield. And by the time I was a legal adult I was the pilot of the Prototype Tactical Mobile Suit weapon of the Phillipines Armed Forces.”

    “…I may be overstepping my bounds as your therapist, but your Dad sounds like a huge fucking nerd. Like a, ‘Grand Poobah of the Weeaboos’ level dork.”

    “I’d say that’s a fair summation yes. And you should see some of the losers and mouthbreathers he mollycoddles on his site. Weapons Grade embarassment right there…”

    • Or… she could be your laid back mecha fangirl, enjoying her robot shows when not in tennis practice and/or tournaments. You seem I’m also going to be an insufferable tennis dad. She’s going to be a Newtype on the courts when I’m done with her. (I’m into playing tennis in a bad way, and I can’t wait to get back — curse my terrible work schedule).

  16. TheBigN says:

    She’s dangerously adorable. Congrats, and hope she has a pretty awesome birthday.

  17. Hana says:

    I’m so glad my dad never had a blog. 😛

    Congrats to all three of you, Papa Ghosty!

  18. Tenryu says:

    Anyone consider that when Ghost’s daughter get to an age were’n she could surfs the net for fun and actually know what being embarrassed is like that there might not be an internet?

    Any how Congrats! Keep on with the good job and maybe when she gets older show her why(even though its silly) street fighter gundam is awesome. That or just show her the shinning finger

  19. Forgot to check out more since my absence, but damn, she’s cute, bro… and I can foresee a slickin’ good VF-11C in the future.

    Keep on flying. 🙂

  20. maAkusutipen says:

    Doting father…. too precious to watch.
    Hope you and your daugther keep remembering all kinds of love. hehehe

Leave a comment